Fresh Start

Well it’s been a while but here goes my second attempt at this blog.  After a wonderful weekend with my WIU girlfriends, a real urge came over me to actually start and keep up my blog, which I’ll get to in a minute.

I attempted to be crafty and put out some Christmas table decorations before the girls arrived.  Hmm I need more work in the home decor department.  Not one of my strengths but hey, at least I tried!

After much anticipation for the weekend, Darcy, Kali, Cassie, and Lauren finally arrived on Saturday afternoon to celebrate our “Friendsgiving”.  Since almost everyone came from out of town, I decided to have each person choose a recipe to contribute to our meal and went grocery shopping on Thursday to get all the ingredients.  This way no one had to worry about preparing anything ahead of time or transporting their dish on a several hour drive.

Our meal came together nicely.  I used Dave’s Mom’s crock pot turkey breast recipe which was incredibly simple and delicious!

Crock Pot Turkey Breast

Ingredients:

1 fresh turkey breast with skin on (6-7 lbs.)

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 envelope Lipton’s dry onion soup mix (1 oz package)


Directions:

1.  Rinse the breast with cold water and pat dry using a paper towel.

2.  Lightly rub oil all over the turkey breast.

3.  In a small bowl, mix together the onion soup mix, garlic and pepper, and rub over the turkey breast and underneath the skin.  (At this point, you may cover and refrigerate for 24 hours.)

4.  Put in crock pot, cover, and cook on HIGH for 1 hour.

5.  Reduce heat to LOW and cook for about 5 hours for a 6 lb. breast.

6.  Enjoy 🙂

With our turkey, we enjoyed Make-Over Corn Casserole (Lauren’s recipe), French’s Green Bean Casserole (Cassie’s recipe), cheesy potatoes (Kali’s recipe – see below), and french bread with compound butter.  I made the herbed butter and then combined the other two types listed on this website to make a honey cinnamon butter. Yum!

Cheesy Potatoes

Ingredients:

1 bag of frozen shredded potatoes

1-2 cans of cream of chicken soup

Sour cream

Shredded cheddar cheese


Directions:

Mix ingredients together and make sure potatoes are moist.  Bake in a casserole dish for 1 hour in a 350 degree oven.

I also made cranberry sauce ahead of time, but had a few too many glasses of wine and completely forgot to serve it when we sat down to eat.  Oops!  I must have been enjoying myself…

Yikes!

Darcy chose our dessert which was another Skinnytaste recipe, Diet Soda Cake, but was having an extremely busy week so I helped her out and made the cake ahead of time.  I saw this idea on Pinterest and decided to do something completely random…

Totally random but very delicious!  I poured the cake batter into 2 round cake pans and baked according to directions.  Once completely cooled, I cut the rounds into a ying-yang shape.  I placed both pieces from one pan in a mustache shape, frosted, topped with the other 2 pieces for a chocolate middle layer. I finished it off by frosting the top and sides and then used the side of a knife to sweep the frosting to create texture.

I also made the acorn cookies out of mini Nutter Butters and Hershey kisses.  Unfortunately I forgot to snap a pic before we devoured them, but this is about what the looked like.

So as we were cooking and enjoying each other’s company, a few of the girls suggested that I start a blog to document my cooking, baking, etc.  Little did I know at the time, a seed was planted and I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it since. I already had this blog started, so why not take a few minutes every couple days and journal?  If nothing more, this is just my little spot to remember my adventures in food, family, friends, and fitness.  Enjoy!

-Lauren

Leave a Reply

