Cookie Exchange

Now that I have properly celebrated Thanksgiving in all its glory and it’s finally December, let the holiday baking begin!  My mom has a cookie exchange tonight with some friends but has been extremely busy and stressed with work lately so I offered to bake some cookies for her to bring.  While she is extremely grateful for the help, I look at it as a great opportunity to taste test some new recipes I’ve been wanting to try and then rid my house of them.  🙂 Dave is a wonderful taste tester for all my desserts, but there is no way the two of us could polish off the number of sweets I like to make… nor should we try.

I baked three types of cookies.  The first one started off as my go-to oatmeal chocolate chip cookie recipe which you can find here.  But when I went in the cabinet to find chocolate chips, I was greeted with leftover cinnamon chips, white chocolate chips, and mini chocolate chips.  Each one had about a 1/4 to a 1/3 of the bag left so I threw them all in the batch, along with a couple handfuls of raisins I had left over from trail mix I made a couple weeks ago.  So I’m not sure what to call them… but Dave called them DELICIOUS! 🙂

And boy were they loaded with goodies!

The second cookie was a soft gingersnap cookie with white chocolate chips.

These babies had ginger, ground cloves, cinnamon, nutmeg and molasses to bring out the holiday flavor, and were rolled in sugar to finish off before baking.  The original recipe called for butterscotch chips but I had picked up another bag of white chocolate chips and thought they would be pretty nestled in the middle.

Finally, I made s’more bites.

These little guys were made in a mini muffin pan with a graham cracker bottom followed by a chocolate layer, toasted marshmallow, and finished off with some melty chocolate on top.  Yum!

Each batch of cookies made 2 to 3 dozen.  Since my mom only needed 3 dozen to bring to her cookie exchange and Dave and I had already sampled a few too many, I decided to bring the rest into work to have my coworkers help me get rid of them.

In the midst of all this baking the past couple nights, I made this salad for lunch nearly every day this week.

My refrigerator has been packed with leftover turkey over the past couple weeks from both Thanksgiving and Friendsgiving so I’ve been eating leftovers in some form at almost every meal.  I have to say as much as I was craving turkey, I think I’m officially turkeyed-out until next year!

This salad was a mix of baby greens, cucumber, tomato, green onions, turkey, pepper jack cheese and topped off with balsamic vinaigrette.  So so good!

And if you thought this past week has satisfied my holiday baking craze, you would be wrong.  My mom and I are baking MORE Christmas cookies on Saturday.  Can’t wait!

-Lauren

Leave a Reply

