Tangy Mustard Vinaigrette

Although it’s a gross, rainy day, it feels darn good that it’s finally Saturday!

Dave had the day off yesterday so he was home when I get back from work, which is very rare.  Neither one of us were super hungry for dinner, so we snacked a little and saved room for some pie that he picked up down the street at Hoosier Mama’s Pie Company.

photo-16

Banana cream pie (I think) on the left and chocolate pecan pie on the right.  Man these were tasty!  I combined the two in one bite to taste like a chocolate covered banana.  We’ve tried several kinds of their pie and no matter how much I think I don’t care for a particular flavor, they always blow me away.  Highly recommend it if you’re in the area.

Dave and I were dead tired last night so we went to bed pretty early… I think 9?  Wow, we are party animals.  But hey, it felt great!

I woke up pretty early and had some breakfast.

IMG_0520

I cleaned up the condo, ran a few errands, and dropped off Mac at PetsHotel to stay the night since Dave and I are going out for my birthday dinner tonight.  I stopped home for a quick lunch.

IMG_0531

I combined quinoa, black beans, butternut squash, and the rest of the pork tenderloin.  In a separate bowl, I whipped up a homemade dressing to mix into this salad.

Tangy Mustard Vinaigrette

Ingredients:

1 tbls apple cider vinegar

2 tbls olive oil

1 garlic clove, pressed

1 tlbs dijon mustard

1/2 tbls honey

Salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

Add all ingredients in a bowl and whisk until combined.

Once I digested the food in my system, I stopped at the gym.  I began with this run on the treadmill.

Treadmill

And followed with a circuit workout inspired by Bodypump.  If you are unfamiliar, Bodypump dedicates one song track to each area of the body in the same order – warmup, squats, chest, back, triceps, biceps, lunges, shoulders, abs, and cooldown.  I used a similar rhythm sequence to mimic a Bodypump class but it took me about 30 minutes instead of a full hour.

I felt great after completing both workouts.  Now time to get ready for dinner!

-Lauren

Leave a Reply

