Cooking Scrapbook – Mom’s Goulash

Okay back to reality!  I started off the week on the right foot – 30 minutes on the elliptical followed by Bodypump.

Breakfast was yet another yogurt bowl – plain Chobani greek yogurt, sliced bananas and a big scoop of crunchy peanut butter.

photo (3)

My mom took me out to Panera for a birthday lunch.  I ordered the Thai Chicken Salad, my absolute favorite!

Cooking Scrapbook

A couple years ago, I put together a cooking scrapbook filled with my favorite recipes growing up and others that my mom and I would cook together.  I gave it to her as a Christmas present and made a copy for myself as well.

IMG_0522

The scrapbook is in a similar order of any normal cookbook.

IMG_0523

I also dedicated a section for our ‘family recipes’ and added one recipe for each member of the family.

IMG_0525

Finally, I included Julia Child’s famous recipe for Boeuf Bourguigon.  Neither my mom nor I have ever attempted the recipe but we’ve talked about it several times since watching the movie Julie and Julia. I’m determined for us to cook it together some day!

IMG_0526

IMG_0527

Ever since I moved down to the city, I have only made a few things out of the cookbook.  I decided I will make it a goal over the next couple months to make every recipe and post it on this blog.  Kind of like Julie and Julia, right? 🙂

So here is one of my very favorite recipe growing up.

IMG_0573

IMG_0565

Mom’s Goulash

Ingredients:

1 lb ground beef (or ground turkey)

1 medium onion, diced

1 can of diced tomatoes (15 oz)

1 can of kidney beans (15 oz)

1-2 tbls taco seasoning

1 cup water

1 cup pasta, any kind

Shredded Parmesan cheese, optional

Directions:

1.  Put diced onions and meat into a large pot and cook on medium heat until the meat is no longer pink.

IMG_0560

2.  Add diced tomatoes, kidney beans, taco seasoning, and water.  Bring to a boil, stirring occasionally.

IMG_0563

3.  Add pasta and cook for 7-10 minutes until al dente, or to your liking.

IMG_0564

4.  Sprinkle Parmesan cheese, if desired.

IMG_0565

This goulash is a one-pot meal, super easy, and delicious!  It reminds me a bit like chili but not as thick or soupy or tomato-y and more of a Mexican flavor.  I also love this recipe because it is so versatile as you can easily add extra veggies (i.e. mushrooms, green peppers, etc.) or anything else you feel like!

Enjoy 🙂

-Lauren

2 thoughts on “Cooking Scrapbook – Mom’s Goulash

  1. […] Mom’s Goulash […]

  2. […] So when we weren’t at Taco Bell, we often assembled these tasty little tostadas and so, for obvious reasons, they made the cut in the Family Secrets section of the cooking scrapbook. […]

Leave a Reply

