Cooking Scrapbook – Spritz & Molasses Cookies

Only 4 more days till Utah!!  I just need to survive a few more days and then Dave and I are off to Park City for the rest of the year.  Can. Not. Wait.

Last night I received a nice little surprise in the mail from my Grandma Saar for Christmas.

IMG_0574

And inside…

IMG_0575

Full of Ghiradelli chocolate goodies!  She knows me too well 🙂  Dave and I snacked on quite a few items.  One of the silver bags on the right has HUGE dark chocolate chips so I’m already dreaming up what cookie I could use those in.

I fit in a 5 mile workout this morning consisting of both running and walking intervals on the treadmill.  Got nice and sweaty!  I had this delicious combo this morning.

IMG_0577

Plain Chobani greek yogurt topped with banana slices, chocolate banana granola, and peanut butter.  Chocolate AND peanut butter for breakfast?  Don’t mind if I do 😉

We had our company Christmas party this afternoon.  They offered a choice of beef, turkey, or tilapia for lunch with lots of sides – rice with mushrooms, sweet potatoes, mixed veggies, caesar salad, cranberry sauce, and rolls.  Plus, lots of desserts – red velvet cake & cupcakes, brownies, chocolates, candies, and hot cocoa.  They decked out the cafeteria, had Christmas music playing and also had a group of employees who performed a few songs.

In light of the Christmas spirit, several coworkers and I dressed up.

IMG_2696

Ugly Christmas sweaters, anyone?  Yep, we looked fabulous!  Nice job ladies 😉

Cooking Scrapbook Recipes

Since I hadn’t come up with my idea until recently to highlight every recipe in the cooking scrapbook I made for my mom, I’m going back in time to post 2 cookie recipes my mom and I baked during our holiday baking a couple weeks ago.

Spritz Cookies

photo-24

Christmas Cookies 2012

As I had mentioned in the previous post, these cookies have the best tasting dough!  The addition of almond extract makes a subtle appearance but really brings the flavor up a notch.  Dave and I normally aren’t huge sugar cookie fans (except for PotBelly’s sugar cookies, unbelievable!) but we both loved these cookies – especially Dave!!

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups butter, softened

1 cup sugar

1 egg

2 tbls milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp almond extract

4 cups sifted flour

1 tsp baking powder

Sprinkles, red hots or other decorations – optional

Directions:

Thoroughly cream butter and sugar.  Add egg, milk, vanilla and almond.  Beat well.  Sift flour and baking powder and gradually add to creamed mixture, mixing until smooth.  Do not chill.  Force dough through cookie press onto ungreased cookie sheet and decorate, if desired.  Bake at 400 degrees for about 8 minutes (or until the bottoms JUST start to turn brown.)  Cool on cooking rack.

Christmas Cookies 2012

Molasses Cookies

photo-23

IMG_0418

These molasses cookies are my mom’s favorite!  Growing up, I remember my mom and Grandma Meyer carried on a tradition of baking TONS of Christmas cookies every year and these always made the cut.  As long as they aren’t baked too long, they end up with a slightly crispy edge and a soft & chewy middle.  Plus, the spices add some warmth and depth of flavor.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup Crisco shortening

1/4 cup butter, softened

1 cup sugar

1 egg

1/4 cup dark molasses

2 cups sifted regular flour

2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp ground cloves

1/2 tsp salt

Extra sugar for rolling (1/2 to 3/4 cup)

Directions:

Cream together shortening, butter and sugar.  Add egg and molasses; blend well.  Sift together remaining ingredients and gradually add to molasses mixture.  Mix well and chill overnight (or for at least a few hours.)  Form into 1 inch balls and roll in granulated sugar.  Bake at 375 degrees for 8-10 minutes on ungreased cookie sheet.

IMG_0416

Now I’ve got 3 recipes down and 40 to go!

-Lauren

One thought on “Cooking Scrapbook – Spritz & Molasses Cookies

  1. […] Spritz and Molasses Cookies […]

Leave a Reply

