Fresh Roasted Tomato Sauce

Although I took the day off work today, I still woke up around 5:30 am and couldn’t get back to sleep.  Darn internal clock!  Hopefully that doesn’t happen when I’m on vacation because I know I need to catch up on my sleep.

I got up, drank some coffee, and then made it to the gym.  The original plan was to run for a short time, only as a way to warmup but I felt great and “I just felt like running” <Forrest Gump voice> so I just kept going.  Ever have one of those days?  Where you have extra energy out of nowhere?

After completing a solid 5 mile run, I came home and enjoyed breakfast.

photo-25

I sliced and toasted a Panera whole wheat baguette leftover from my birthday lunch on Monday.  On the side I had some cottage cheese topped with more leftover cranberry sauce I froze from Friendsgiving and recently defrosted.

photo-26

I couldn’t decide on just one topping so Naturally Nutty vanilla almond butter on the left and Laughing Cow cinnamon cream cheese on the right.

I spent the rest of the morning cleaning the condo from top to bottom and doing laundry until I broke for lunch.  Not only did I have leftover pasta, but I needed to get rid of the remaining grape tomatoes before we leave for Utah, so I made a roasted tomato sauce.  I probably had about 6-7 ounces of grape tomatoes which I sliced in half, sprinkled Italian Herb Garlic Gold Nuggets, and roasted in the oven for about 30 minutes at 400 degrees.

photo-28

Once the tomatoes had broken down and were bubbling away, I poured on top of leftover linguine pasta.

photo-27

This pasta was simple, tasty and totally hit the spot!  It was also incredibly easy, I feel silly posting a recipe.. so rather, here are guidelines…

Fresh Roasted Tomato Sauce

Ingredients:

Olive oil or any cooking spray

Tomatoes (any kind)

Salt

Pepper

Garlic (fresh or dried)

Italian Seasoning

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees and mist cooking spray into a small foil-lined pan (with edges).  Slice tomatoes into small pieces and season to taste with salt, pepper, garlic, and italian seasoning – or whatever other seasoning you desire.  Place in the oven for approximately 30 minutes or until tomatoes have broken down.  Serve over pasta.

After lunch, my dad came over for a few hours to help set up my new camera.  My parents bought it for me for my birthday but it is way more high tech than my simple point-and-shoot camera so he set it up and gave a few brief lessons.  Can’t wait to use it!

-Lauren

Leave a Reply

