Cooking Scrapbook – Brownies

Yesterday turned out to be an even mix of productivity and relaxation.  My friend, Katie, stopped over for a bit before she met up with some friends for dinner and then I lounged around with this guy.

IMG_0591

He is quite possibly the most difficult thing to photograph.  Almost every night, I attempt at least 10 pictures and can’t ever get one looking straight into the camera.  Oh well, I thought this one was pretty cute 😉

I decided to bake a batch of brownies for our floor Christmas party on Friday.  The managers from each department on our floor provide the main entrees for lunch and then everyone brings something to share as well.  Since I’ll be seeing the Nutcracker Joffrey Ballet tonight, this was my only opportunity.

Cooking Scrapbook – Brownies

IMG_0586

IMG_0599

My mom originally got this brownie recipe from a good family friend, Lisa, and has been her go-to brownie recipe for years.  In one word, they are decadent.  They can be whipped up in minutes and are baked with only a few ingredients but result in a rich, moist, and chocolatey brownie.

Brownies

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1/2 cup flour

1/2 tbls powdered sugar (optional)

Directions:

1.  Cream butter and sugar until smooth.  Add eggs and vanilla and beat until light and fluffy.

IMG_0580

2.  Slowly add cocoa powder and flour until incorporated.  Then, beat well until fluffy.

IMG_0581

3.  Pour batter into a 9×9 baking pan and smooth evenly.

IMG_0584

4.  Bake at 350 degrees for about 22-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.  If desired, lightly sprinkle or sift powdered sugar over the top.  Let cool.

IMG_0588

5.  Once cooled for at least 20 minutes, cut into squares and serve.

This morning I woke up and my arms were sore!  I have to believe it was from all that cleaning yesterday.  Even though I was very tempted to hit the snooze and sleep in, today was my last chance to get in a Bodypump class before the end of the year.  As always, I’m glad I did.  Following my workout, I was more than ready for some breakfast!

IMG_0602

Plain Chobani greek yogurt topped with the last of my cranberry sauce and homemade pumpkin spice trail mix.

Hopefully this ‘horrible’ winter storm doesn’t end up as bad as expected.  Not in the mood for traffic!

-Lauren

2 thoughts on “Cooking Scrapbook – Brownies

  1. […] Brownies […]

  2. cdouglass96 May 28, 2013 at 12:43 pm Reply

    Yum! These look awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

