Cooking Scrapbook – White Chicken Chili

Today, along with every day since I have been back in town, started really slowly.  I haven’t been able to get back in the swing of things or into any normal routine.  It seems like no amount of sleep is enough.

I went to sleep pretty early for a Saturday night, around 10:30 pm, and could not get myself out of bed until 10:30 am!  So unlike me.  I’m usually restless and up by 7 am at the latest.

I guess this girl needed a LOT of extra sleep!

Breakfast

After finally forcing myself out of bed, I put together breakfast.

IMG_0684

Yogurt base, topped with blackberries, granola and Trader Joe’s Sunflower Seed Butter.

photo (10)

This stuff rocks!

IMG_0683

Shortly after breakfast, I ran some errands and began packing for the big move!

I’ve been dreading packing and moving for the last week or so, but I know I’ll be glad once it’s all said and done.

Lunch

After some errands out in the wind and snow, I was totally in the mood for something warm and comforting.

IMG_0686

White Chicken Chili from my mom’s cooking scrapbook sounded perfect.  This recipe turns out just as thick, hearty and filling as a beef chili, but remains light ‘n healthy and has a nice kick from the fresh jalapenos.

I didn’t have all the ingredients the recipe called for so I made some changes and it may have turned out even better!

IMG_0681

IMG_0688

White Lightning Chicken Chili

(Slightly adapted from Pampered Chef recipe)

Ingredients:

3 chicken breasts, poached and shredded

6 garlic cloves, crushed

1 medium onion, chopped

3 jalapenos (or less to decrease spiciness), seeded and chopped

3 – 15 oz cans Great Northern beans, drained

1 tblp olive oil

1 can diced tomatoes

1 cup water

2 tbls cumin

1/4 cup lime juice

1 tbls cornstarch

1 tbls cold water

1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro, optional

Plain greek yogurt, optional

Directions:

1.  Heat olive oil in a large pot.  Saute onion, garlic and jalapeno for about 5 minutes until soft.

2.  Mash 1 can of beans and add to onion mixture.

3.  Add 2 remaining cans of beans, shredded chicken, diced tomatoes, 1 cup of water and lime juice.

4.  Bring to a boil and simmer for about 20-25 minutes.

5.  In a small bowl, whisk cornstarch and cold water.  Add to chili and cook for an additional 5 minutes until thickened up.

6.  Ladle chili into bowls and top with a dollop of greek yogurt and chopped cilantro.

IMG_0687

This recipe results in 8 good sized servings.  Enjoy!

-Lauren

One thought on “Cooking Scrapbook – White Chicken Chili

  1. […] White Chicken Chili […]

Leave a Reply

