WIAW #1

Happy Hump Day!  Glad to be halfway through the week!

Today I’m joining in on the healthy blogging craze to create a “What I Ate Wednesday” post.  The whole thing was started by Peas and Crayons and for the past year or so, I’ve loved reading other healthy bloggers daily eats.  I’ve gotten so many great snack and meal ideas so why not jump on the bandwagon?! 😉

Breakfast

I needed to get into work a bit earlier than usual so I could have as much time as possible to pack tonight.  Since I start my next MBA class tomorrow evening and won’t have much time afterwards, I need nearly everything ready to go tonight before the movers arrive bright and early on Friday morning.

Luckily, I managed to squeeze in a quick 30 minute elliptical workout this morning.

IMG_0707

Breakfast was the usual greek yogurt.  This time with fresh raspberries, Kashi Go Lean cereal, and Naturally Nutty Vanilla Almond Butter.

photo (22)

Mid Morning Snack

Around 10 am, my stomach started growling at me so I dug into a snack.

photo (26)

Cottage cheese paired with grape tomatoes and red & green peppers slices.   Protein and fiber to hold me over til lunch.  Super simple but it did the trick.

Lunch

On the agenda this afternoon – lunch with my mom!  Since we work in buildings down the street from each other, we generally try to meet for lunch at least once every week or two.  However, more recently our schedules haven’t lined up quite right with the holidays being so hectic, so we were long overdue for our lunch date.

We typically meet at Michael’s Cafe in the building next to mine to load up on their awesome salad bar and today was no different.

Michael's Salad Bar

One word – YUM!

Afternoon Snacks

I chugged away at work through the afternoon until hunger struck again!

Enter snack #1.

Chobani Coffee and Dark Chocolate

A cutie and a yogurt.  I found these cute little Chobani yogurts at Target – coffee flavored greek yogurt with dark chocolate chunks.  Highly recommended!

I also packed another little addition to this snack but got caught up in work and didn’t get a chance to eat it until my ride home.

Enter snack #2.

photo (25)

Sweet potato sprinkled with cinnamon and a glob of peanut butter.  I know, I know it sounds strange if you’ve never tried it.  I thought so too at first… but trust me, it’s fantastic!

Dinner

As planned, I got off work a bit earlier than usual so I made it home fairly quickly without much traffic.  I ran a few errands and picked up Mac before arriving home to continue the dreaded packing.

About an hour in, I took a small break to eat dinner.

 Turkey Avocado Wrap

Turkey avocado wrap with a side of sautéed zucchini, summer squash, red & green peppers and onions.

For the wrap, I laid out a whole wheat tortilla, spread a French Onion Laughing Cow Cheese Wedge, layered with turkey slices, romaine lettuce, red peppers, onions, avocado and bit of dijon mustard.  Once I rolled it all up, I heated up a pan with a little olive oil, laid down the wrap and toasted both sides.  Boy was this tasty!

Gotta have a little something sweet afterwards.

photo-42

And there you have it!  WIAW complete.

-Lauren

Leave a Reply

