WIAW #2: Inspired

I realized last night that Cassie and I have just about 4 months until our half marathon.  While I’ve been running a little bit over the past few months, I’ve focused my runs more on interval training, rather than distance, so I was inspired to run this morning.

photo (31)

I fit in a 5.5 mile run bright and early!  Five minutes to warm-up and again to cool down.

WIAW

On the agenda now – another “WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday)” post.

Breakfast

The first meal of the day was inspired by Peanut Butter Fingers’ Crock Pot Challenge.  The idea is to try 10 new crock pot recipes by the end of February.  I have less than 2 months so I figured I should get crackin’!

apple crumble yogurt bowl

Greek yogurt topped with sliced almonds, granola and a homemade apple compote in the crock pot last night.  (For aesthetic reasons, I only sprinkled a little granola and sliced almonds for the pictures, but later added about 4 times as much for more crunchy goodness!)

apple crumble yogurt bowl close up

Sweet apples tossed in a bit of cinnamon and vanilla.  My inspiration came from an Apple Crumble dessert I saw advertised and this combination turned out fabulous!  (Recipe coming tomorrow!)

Mid Morning Snack

A few hours later, I enjoyed a snack at my desk.

photo (38)

Mini bell peppers and a string cheese.

Lunch

Leftovers of “Dad’s Dinner” for lunch.

leftover dads dinner

I would have probably brought my own broccoli to complete Dad’s Dinner, but I learned a few years ago, broccoli literally STINKS as leftovers.  It smells just plain awful, trust me.  So I spared my coworkers, but coincidentally the cafeteria just so happened to be serving broccoli as a side so it all worked out.

dark choco almonds dessert

I also enjoyed a few dark chocolate almonds afterwards for some sweetness.

Afternoon Snack

Around 3:00 pm, I needed a pick-me-up to get me through the rest of the afternoon.

Yogi Tea

Yogi brand tea with an inspiring little saying.

yogi fortune

Plus a banana and peanut butter.

banana and peanut butter snack

Since nut butter was not involved in breakfast, you better believe I made up for it later!

Dinner

By the time dinner rolled around, I was H.U.N.G.R.Y.  My appetite has been through the roof all day today and I blame the run this morning!

Dave and I tried out a new place for dinner in St Charles called Kabobs.  It’s a Greek inspired menu featuring gyros, kabobs, pita bread, hummus, etc.

photo-49

I ordered the Chicken Kabob Salad which came with tomatoes, cucumbers, green peppers, red onions, kalamata olives, pepperoncinis, feta cheese, a house made Greek dressing, pita bread and of course, two chicken kabobs.  Delish!

Inspired

So yesterday afternoon, I received these texts from Cassie.

txt 1 txt 2

And over the past couple weeks, I received these food pics from Ashley.

ashley food collage

I really never expected I would ever inspire anyone, so these were a pleasant surprise and such a wonderful complement!  Made my day. 🙂

-Lauren

3 thoughts on “WIAW #2: Inspired

  1. astottler January 16, 2013 at 10:49 pm Reply

    I love those individual packets of peanut butter! I literally carry them with me wherever I go because I want to have quality pb on hand if the craving ever strikes!

  2. […] I mentioned in yesterday’s post, this homemade apple compote was inspired by Peanut Butter Fingers’ Crock Pot Challenge, […]

  3. […] Or Apple Pie Yogurt Bowl […]

Leave a Reply

