Overnight Oats Parfait

Before Dave headed off to work for the day, the three of us went on a 45 minute walk.

sunrise 01-19-13

Our neighborhood is fairly new and still developing, so there are several empty lots with open land for Mac to roam around.

Mac 01-19-13

He was a happy camper, that’s for sure.mac and dave

Breakfast

Mac took a load off while I fixed us both breakfast.

Mac collage

Kibbles for him, overnight oats parfait for me.

mac and my breakfast

Every batch of overnight oats turns out just a bit different than the last.  With all the overnight oat recipes circling the internet, everyone has declared their own preference in texture.  Some like it chewier with more oats, others creamier with more yogurt or milk.  I’ve seen vegan versions and ones without the chia seeds.  You get the idea…

DSC_0098

I don’t typically measure each ingredient exactly, so the texture always varies.  But this week, I created a double batch and I believe I’ve finally nailed down my own perfect combination.

I still love to change it up and experiment with different flavors, but here is my basic overnight oats recipe, served parfait style.

Overnight Oats Parfait

Overnight Oats

Serves Two (or one large, filling serving)

Ingredients:

6 oz. container (or 3/4 cup) 2% Greek yogurt

1/2 cup oats

2 tablespoons chia seeds

1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

1 tsp vanilla

1 ripe banana, mashed

Few generous shakes of cinnamon

Pinch of salt

Directions:

Mix all ingredients until well combined.  Top/layer with fruit, nut butter, granola, etc.

oo parfait close up lower temp

Today batch was layered with nectarines and strawberries and topped off with a dollop of Barney Butter Almond Butter.

-Lauren

Leave a Reply

