Fruit on the Bottom

Happy MLK Day!

Thankfully I had the day off from work today, so I was able to sleep in a little longer.  I began my half marathon training today and squeezed in a 3 mile run before meeting up with Ashley on her lunch break at Panera.

panera_thai_chicken_salad

Ashley had a You-Pick-Two with French Onion Soup (looked INCREDIBLE) and a side Thai Chopped Chicken Salad.  I ordered the same salad, only the full version.  I seriously just love this thing so much and everytime I order it, I vow to recreate it at home.  Maybe soon?

Fruit on the Bottom

After lunch, I ran to Costco to pick up a few items and on my way past the produce, the blackberries were calling my name.  They looked way too delicious to pass up so they hopped in my cart.

On the way home, things shifted around in my trunk.  The blackberries fell to the bottom and half the container got smushed!  😦 So what to do?  I couldn’t bear to throw them away and thus, I used them in a mixed berry sauce.

fruit on the bottom

‘Fruit-on-the-bottom’ yogurts often contain a LOT of sugar so I try not to buy them and instead add fruit to plain yogurt for some sweetness.  But here I used strawberries, blackberries and frozen blueberries in a homemade version of fruit-on-the-bottom yogurt.  I put the mixed berry sauce in first and topped with plain Greek yogurt before stirring it all up!

fruit on the bottom yogurt

Mixed Berry Sauce

Serves 6-8

Ingredients:

3 cups of mixed berries, fresh or frozen

1/2 tbls turbinado or brown sugar (add more if you like it sweeter)

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 tbls cornstarch

1 tbls cold water

Directions:

Combine the first 4 ingredients into a saucepan heated on medium heat for about 8 minutes until the berries start to release some liquid.  Meanwhile, whisk the cornstarch and cold water in a small bowl until smooth.  Once the berries have broken down a bit, add the cornstarch mixture and continue to stir until the sauce thickens up, about 12-15 minutes.

mixed berry sauce

This sauce contains less than 1 added gram of sugar per serving!  You can also add the sauce to a bowl of oatmeal, serve over pancakes/waffles/french toast, pour over ice cream, etc.

 

-Lauren

One thought on “Fruit on the Bottom

  1. […] with homemade fruit-on-the-bottom Greek yogurt.  SO so good!  If you’ve never tasted sunflower seed butter, you are most […]

Leave a Reply

