Crock Pot French Toast Oatmeal – CPC #3

A blanket of snow covered everything overnight.

snow 2 feb 2

While I might have been tempted to complain other winters, I’m actually quite thankful for the snow this morning.  Temperatures in the Chicago area have dropped significantly in the past week and the wind chills are absolutely brutal, but somehow the snow makes it just a tiny bit more bearable.

snow feb 2

Okay maybe not when I have to take Mac out for a potty break… but for the most part, I appreciate not feeling like I live in a snowless arctic tundra.

Seeing how the weather has been frigid, I have been craving a nice big bowl of hot oatmeal all week!  But since I generally get ready at the gym and eat breakfast in the car on my way to work, a cold bowl of oatmeal is probably my only option.  And well, that’s just not going to cut it.

Soooo today’s the day!  I married together the flavors of french toast and hearty steel cut oats and cooked it up in the crock pot.

french toast oatmeal 7

And not to toot my own horn, but I guess I’m going to – this was stuff was incredible!

french toast oatmeal 4

Thick, creamy, warm and filling.  Perfect for a day like today!  The aroma of cinnamon and maple filled the kitchen and I gobbled it up the second I got home from a good workout.  Couldn’t have planned it better.

crockpot french toast oatmeal

Crock Pot French Toast Oatmeal

Serves 4

Ingredients:

1 tbsp coconut oil (or cooking spray)

1 cup steel cut oats

4 cups milk (I used 2 cups each 2% milk and unsweetened vanilla almond milk)

2 eggs, beaten

1 tbls turbinado sugar (or brown sugar)

1 tsp maple extract (optional)

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp salt

Optional toppings (i.e. maple syrup, almonds, berries, etc.)

Directions:

Grease crock pot with coconut oil (or cooking spray) so oatmeal doesn’t stick.  Combine all ingredients in a crock pot and stir thoroughly.  Cover and let cook on low setting for about 4 hours.  (Optional, but delicious: drizzle with maple syrup and sprinkle with almonds.)

french toast oatmeal 2

The addition of the eggs is a must as it really transforms the flavor to resemble french toast.

Enjoy!

-Lauren

One thought on “Crock Pot French Toast Oatmeal – CPC #3

  1. Weekend Recap « Berry Sweet Lauren February 4, 2013 at 11:16 am Reply

    […] Crossfit and a few errands, I spent the majority of the day cooking up a few things, including my Crock Pot French Toast Oatmeal.  More recipes coming this […]

Leave a Reply

