Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken Sandwich – CPC #5

Officially halfway through the Crock Pot Challenge!  I now have about 2 weeks left to try 5 new recipes in the crock pot and I have some good ones up my sleeve.

Unlike many crockpot recipes, this one only cooks for about 2-3 hours so it is totally feasible to start as soon as you walk in the door from work.

bcs

No need to plan ahead.  In fact, Dave and I ate this twice this week, the second time on a whim.

bcs and cs

As we were eating it the second night, we started brainstorming all kinds of variations of this chicken.  Instead of buffalo sauce, you could use barbeque sauce, any type of salsa (think spicy OR sweet), honey mustard… oh the possibilities!

But let’s take it one at a time…

cpc buffalo chicken sandwich

Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken Sandwich

Serves 4 sandwiches

Ingredients:

3 chicken breasts

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup buffalo sauce, divided

2 tbls greek yogurt

4 whole wheat buns

Directions:

1.  Spray the inside of the crock pot with cooking spray or olive oil.

oil crockpot

2.  Place chicken breasts and water in the pot.  Then pour 1/4 cup buffalo sauce over the chicken breasts.

crockpot buff chicken raw

3.  Turn the crock pot to low.

low setting

4.  Cover and cook for 2-3 hours.  My crock pot seems to be hotter than others so the chicken only needed 2 hours.

 crock pot

5.  Meanwhile, combine remaining buffalo sauce and Greek yogurt in a small bowl.

creamy buff sauce

5.  Once the chicken has cooked through, remove and empty the crock pot of all the juices.  Add the chicken breasts back in the crock pot, shred using two forks, and stir in the buffalo/yogurt mixture.

shredded buff ch

*Note:  you don’t have to use the Greek yogurt.  I didn’t use it the first time and the chicken was pretty darn spicy so the second time, I added the Greek yogurt to cut the spice.  I also used Frank’s Red Hot Buffalo Wing sauce, so feel free to use a milder one.

Franks Red Hot Wing Sauce

6.  Layer a big spoonful of buffalo chicken and coleslaw (optional recipe below) in between both sides of a toasted bun.

bcs2

I chose to serve this with my version of coleslaw both on the sandwich and on the side.  If you know me at all, you are probably already aware of how much I hate mayonnaise.  I mean, I really despise it… like a lot a lot.

Ok that’s enough, now you know… anyways, it probably now comes at no surprise that I don’t like traditional coleslaw either, so here’s my version:

Ranch Broccoli Slaw

Yields 1 large serving

Ingredients:

1 cup broccoli slaw

2 tbls light ranch dressing (I used Wishbone brand)

Directions:

Mix broccoli slaw and ranch dressing together.  If possible, let sit for about 20 minutes in the fridge to soften up a bit.

coleslaw

I loved the crunch from this slaw!

chicken sandwich with coleslawOne serving of slaw has only 85 calories compared to over 300 calories for some traditional coleslaws!  Plus, the fat content is slashed by 75%.  AND it takes no time at all.

So feel free to pile it high!

Tagged: , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken Sandwich – CPC #5

  1. Cheryl February 18, 2013 at 8:48 pm Reply

    I made both the chicken and the broccoli slaw tonight. Very good and they go nicely together! We had the chicken in a low carb tortilla instead of a bun. Delicious 🙂

  2. […] followed this same recipe in the crock pot, only using BBQ sauce instead of […]

  3. […] Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken Sandwich – CPC #5 […]

  4. […] Dave’s request, I threw 2 lbs of chicken breasts into the crock pot to make a big ol batch of shredded buffalo chicken.  So of course, it made an appearance in my lunch the next […]

Leave a Reply

