WIAW #7: Beta-Carotene

Good morning!  And welcome to another edition of WIAW: What I Ate Wednesday.

(Or I guess it really should be WIATPW:  What I Ate On Tuesday Posted On Wednesday. 😉 )

Breakfast

sweet potato yogurt bowl

Yet another delicious yogurt bowl in my belly this morning: mixture of roasted and mashed sweet potato, Greek yogurt, vanilla protein powder and cinnamon, all topped with the new-to-me Reginald’s Bourbon Pecan Peanut Butter I ordered a couple weeks ago.  Tasted a bit like sweet potato pie, only for breakfast and healthy too!  This might just call for a recipe…

Mid Morning Snack

AM Snack

Odwalla Sweet & Salty Almond bar, plus a side of carrots.

Lunch

lunch

A large mug of leftover Butternut Squash Bisque topped with sundried tomatoes, chopped pistachios, and a huge goat cheese round hiding in the center.  After warming up the bisque, I dunked the goat cheese down in the middle so it would melt into the rest of the soup.  Soo creamy and delicious!

Afternoon Snack

Wrap2

Mini turkey wrap and an orange.

Wrap

I never know how long I can keep deli meat in the fridge before it starts to turn bad so I generally err on the side of caution and try to use it up almost immediately.  There were a few slices of herb roasted turkey breast left so I wrapped it up with avocado, romaine lettuce and mustard in a mini whole wheat tortilla.  Perfect little snack wrap!

Dinner

BBQ shredded chicken and red bell pepper strips for dinner.  I also had a little mug of butternut squash sou me over until Dave got home.

dinner

I followed this same recipe in the crock pot, only using BBQ sauce instead of Buffalo.

Beta-Carotene

While I was writing this post, I realized that nearly everything I ate yesterday happened to be orange…. sweet potatoes, carrots, butternut squash, oranges and more.

As someone who frequently reads up on the health benefits of food and is interested in the nerdy nutritional stuff, I remembered that carotenoids are responsible for the orange coloring in fruits and vegetables and that orange foods typically contain a higher concentration of the antioxidant, beta-carotene, but beyond those two things, I couldn’t really recall much else.

So I did a little research and thought I would share my findings!

  • Carotenoids are antioxidants containing the natural pigments found in fruits and vegetables and generally, the richer and/or brighter a food is in color, the higher the concentration of carotenoids.
  • The type of carotenoid most responsible for the orange and yellow pigmentations is beta-carotene providing hefty doses of Vitamin A.
  • Vitamin A strengthens bones and tooth enamel, supports healthy skin (think less acne, wrinkles, dry skin), fights against cancer, boosts your body’s immunity, and helps absorb other essential nutrients into your body.
  • Foods rich in beta-carotene:

orange-fruits-and-vegetables

That’s all I’ve got for now, but orange ya glad the week is halfway over!?! 😉

One thought on “WIAW #7: Beta-Carotene

  1. cleaneatingveggiegirl February 20, 2013 at 3:44 pm Reply

    Your day of eats looks delicious! Beta-Carotene is definitely not something that I lack! I am obsessed with sweet potatoes, cantaloupe, and tangerines, and I go through a 2 lb bag of baby carrots in less than a week. I might have a slight obsession… 😉

Leave a Reply

