Can’t Win Them All

Last night, I had an epic crock pot fail.

crock pot

Ever since I visited Philadelphia on a work trip a few years ago and tasted my very first Philly Cheesesteak, I have been longing to go back to Pat’s for another.

pat's steaks

French bread topped with thinly sliced steak with optional toppings such as grilled onions and cheese (usually provolone or cheese whiz).

If you’ve never ordered an authentic cheesesteak from Philly, then you may not realize there is a “right” and a “wrong” way to order – see Pat’s directions here.

But most importantly, you better be ready to order when you walk up to the counter.  Especially around lunch time, they make hundreds and hundreds of sandwiches and have to move tons of people through the lines so they do not tolerate any sort of dilly-dallying. Consider yourself warned!

crock pot fail philly cheesesteak

So when I found a crock pot philly cheesesteak recipe online, I knew I had to try it… so I did.

crock pot fail

Umm HUGE FAIL.

The meat was chewier than leather and I couldn’t even bite through it!  I found several similar recipes online which called for beef round steak so I gave it a go.  I don’t know if I chose a bad piece of meat or what, but I have never tasted steak so tough in my life.

jj crock pot

I think what upset me the most was the fact that I had picked up 2 loaves of Jimmy John’s french bread especially for the occasion.  I mean who doesn’t love Jimmy John’s bread?!  I recently learned that you can purchase day-old bread for 50 cents.  Plus it’s buy one, get one free!  I got these two for a whopping 54 cents!

I can’t even tell you how excited I was for this dinner until I took one bite of the steak and my dreams were crushed.  But hey, you can’t win them all!

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Can’t Win Them All

  1. Taryn February 21, 2013 at 12:44 pm Reply

    Ugh, that is a HUGE bummer. I have to say, though, that I wasn’t a huge fan of Pat’s (which I feel like is blasphemy to say haha). I prefer Tony Luke’s – so good! Hope you can find another recipe for cheesesteaks!

    • lrsaar February 21, 2013 at 12:53 pm Reply

      That’s okay, I’ve never tried Tony Luke’s so maybe it’s better!

Leave a Reply

