Crock Pot Chicken Fajitas – CPC #7

Can you believe it’s Monday?  Ughh this weekend went by way too quickly.

It’s no fair!  Hmmff…

Alright fine, I’ll act my age now.

After the girls headed back home yesterday, Mac and I took a longgg 2 hour nap while Dave was out at a go-kart racing charity event.  I was in desperate need of some extra zzz’s so it felt fantastic!  I woke up much more energized, cleaned up the rest of the house, and took a walk with Mac while the sun set.  Not too bad.

In order to free up time and not have to worry about doing too much cooking while the girls were over on Saturday, I decided to try fajitas in the crock pot.

chicken fajitas

I’d say they turned out pretty tasty, especially considering the amount of time I spent on prepping – a whopping 5 or 6 minutes.

chicken fajitas 4

Four different colors of bell peppers (red, orange, yellow, green), onion, chicken breasts and jarred salsa all layered in the crock pot for fast, hands-free cooking!

chicken fajitas 32

Crock Pot Chicken Fajitas

Ingredients:

1 tbls olive oil

1 large onion, halved and cut into thin slices

4 bell peppers, seeded and cut into thin slices

2 lbs chicken breasts

1 cup chicken broth

1 cup prepared salsa, divided

Directions:

1.  Place oil, onion, peppers and chicken broth at the bottom of the crock pot.  Add chicken breasts on top and pour a small amount (about 1/4 cup) over the top surface of the breasts.

2.  Set crock pot to low and cook for about 4-5 hours or until chicken breasts are cooked through and the onions and peppers have softened up.

3.  Remove chicken breasts and slice in strips.

4.  Carefully pour out most of the liquid.  Add back chicken strips and remaining salsa and stir to combine.

chicken fajitas2

This is delicious just on it’s own but I chose to serve in soft corn tortillas and a sprinkle of Mexican blend shredded cheese.

Adios!

2 thoughts on “Crock Pot Chicken Fajitas – CPC #7

  1. Kim February 25, 2013 at 8:54 pm Reply

    Simple and nutritious recipes are the best! I’m always paranoid to leave my crock pot on when I leave for the day though so I tend to use just use it on Sundays. Love the blog by the way!

    • lrsaar February 26, 2013 at 8:01 am Reply

      I also prefer to do most of my crock pot cooking on the weekends (or at night if they take less than 5 hours). And thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

