WIAW #8: Four Square Meals

Hope everyone stayed safe in the midst of all the snow we got in Chicago over the past 24 hours!  I woke up like a little kid really hoping for a snow day but I guess not today.

Speaking of weather, I have been cooking up the storm recently in an effort to complete Julie’s Crock Pot Challenge and try 10 new crock pot recipes before the end of February.  Hence why I have more leftovers than I know what to do with.  Thank God for freezers!

This week is dedicated to crock pot meals and leftovers, which makes for super easy lunch and dinner preparation and very little clean up!

Breakfast

bfast

Bananas, Greek Yogurt, Maranatha Almond Butter.  Simple and satisfying.

Mid Morning Snack

There was an enormous unopened bag of shelled pistachios from Costco in the pantry that I had been avoiding opening… that is, until yesterday.  I know myself too well and those suckers will be gone before I know it.  BUT it was National Pistachio Day so I had to!

am snack

Big ‘ol handful of pistachios and a baggy full of cucumbers and celery to carry me until lunch.

Lunch

lunch

Leftover smoked sausage cassoulet.

salad

And a side salad of mixed greens, red onion, artichoke hearts, tomato, carrots and banana peppers.

Afternoon Snack-Meal?

As I mentioned, I’m trying to eat up a lot of the food I’ve been cooking up recently so I opted for more leftovers as a snack.

pm snack

Guess it ended up being more of a meal than a snack but very tasty nonetheless.  Spaghetti squash with simple spicy marinara meat sauce.

pb

When I got home, I still felt a tiny bit hungry (or perhaps just bored) so I ate a spoonful of chunky peanut butter.

Dinner

dinner salad

Giant salad for dinner: romaine lettuce, green onions, cucumbers, orange bell pepper, grape tomatoes, avocado, pork tenderloin and balsamic dressing.

Have a great Wednesday!

One thought on “WIAW #8: Four Square Meals

  1. cleaneatingveggiegirl February 27, 2013 at 4:44 pm Reply

    Thank goodness for freezers! I only cook for myself so often times I have a ton of leftovers, especially when I am making a soup or slow cooker recipe. And I definitely do not want to eat the same dish for 6 meals in a row! 😉

Leave a Reply

