Crock Pot Sweet Potatoes – CPC #10

Gooooooooood morning!

I’m in an awfully good mood today! Most likely because a) it’s Friday, b) it’s March 1st (meaning one more month closer to Spring, even though it certainly doesn’t feel like it this morning) and c) I already have a sweaty 6 mile run under my belt… I’ll take it all! Before I get to my final crock pot recipe, I have one honorable mention from Thursday to discuss first.

Thursday’s Delciousness

My body was a little sore from a recent workout this week and was craving sleep, so I listened to it and skipped my morning workout yesterday in favor of an extra hour of sleep.

Let me tell ya, it felt AMAZING. Plus I took the opportunity to make a hot breakfast.

bfast3

Ho-ly. Cow. I know it doesn’t exactly look appetizing, so it’s a good thing my goal wasn’t towards visual appeal but I had to share because this was incredible!

bfast1

I sauteed onion, browned turkey breakfast sausage, scrambled in two eggs, stirred in avocado at the end and added a dollop of roasted garlic & pine nut hummus and a few dashes of Cholula hot sauce.

bfast 2

I really wish my weekday mornings allowed for a little extra time to prepare eggs because they are just so darn tasty! Although my taste buds generally are in the mood for breakfast on the sweeter side, this little concoction may have changed my mind.

Mmmm mmm mmm!

Crock Pot Sweet Potatoes

I have to preface by saying this isn’t exactly a “recipe”, but it is most definitely noteworthy… especially if you happen to love sweet potatoes AND are a busy bee like me! 😉

sweet potato coconut butter4

Ingredients:

4 medium sized sweet potatoes

Directions:

1. Wash sweet potatoes thoroughly but do not dry. Put at the bottom of a dry crock pot.

sweet potatoes raw crockpot

2. Cover and cook on low 10-12 hours or overnight.

sweet potatoes crockpot

3. Prick with a fork or give one a squeeze to see if they are soft to your liking. Another good check is to see if any of the potatoes have any carmelization going on (see bottom right.)

sweet potatoes cooked crock pot

4. Cut a slit lengthwise in the top and squeeze to open up. Top with anything your heart desires!

sweet potato coconut butter

I chose to sprinkle cinnamon and drizzle melted coconut butter over the sweet potato. OMG, that’s a little slice of heaven right there!

Tonight

I’m excited to get through the rest of the day because Dave and I are off to the Blackhawks game tonight. Hopefully they continue their incredible streak of no losses! Go Hawks!

blackhawks

What are YOUR plans this weekend?

2 thoughts on “Crock Pot Sweet Potatoes – CPC #10

  1. cleaneatingveggiegirl March 1, 2013 at 4:58 pm Reply

    Cooking potatoes in the slow cooker is awesome! So, so convenient :).

  2. […] I had a little help with my favorite Cholula hot sauce on top and also a crock pot sweet potato alongside for some extra staying […]

Leave a Reply

