WIAW #9: Snow Day

You’ve probably already guessed it by now but yesterday I took my own personal snow day!

snow

And honestly, I couldn’t be happier with my choice.  I woke up at my normal time, headed downstairs, and looked out the window.  While there was only a light dusting so far, I checked the weather and the forecast still called for about 10 inches and 90-100% chance of snow every hour for the remainder of the day… no thanks!

What I Ate Wednesday

Yesterday was a bit “snackier” than most WIAW posts, probably because I saved the lunch I had packed the night before for today and had nothing planned for the day.  

coffee

I enjoyed a couple cups of coffee and relaxed for about an hour before heading to the gym.

Ball

On my way out the door, I grabbed a snowball energy bite to get something in my stomach pre-workout.  (Recipe coming your way soon!)

Mac Peanut Butter

As I pulled into the garage, Mac was finishing off the last of his peanut butter jar.  We normally put a tiny bit of peanut butter inside his red Kong toy to keep him busy but only a little peanut butter remained in the crevices so he earned the entire jar today and licked it clean!  Takes after his mom! 😉

bfast1

I was starving when I got home but Mac begged for a walk so I quickly scarfed down an apple with a yogurt-peanut butter dip, bundled up, and headed out into the blizzard.

lunch almonds

I wasn’t all that hungry after our walk (probably because I used whole milk yogurt for that dip and ate twice as much as in the picture) but wanted a little something more so I nibbled on a couple small handfuls of Vanilla Roast Almonds.

Lunch

As lunchtime rolled around, my appetite was back in full swing.

Lunch salad

Giant salad bowl and lemon La Croix.

lunch salad2

Herb lettuce mix, herb roasted deli turkey, cucumber, avocado, sundried tomatoes and sliced almonds all dressed in a garlic vinaigrette.

Afternoon Snack(s)

I worked a little from home after lunch and then cuddled on the couch with Mac to read a book.

snack1A few hours later while I was reading, I was craving something sweet so I had a small bowl of Greek yogurt with banana bread granola and a drizzle of peanut butter to satisfy my sweet tooth.

turkey lettuce wrap

Not surprisingly, I fell asleep while reading but woke up around 4 pm feeling refreshed and once again a little hungry.  To tide me over til dinner, I wrapped a slice of herb roasted turkey in a couple butter lettuce leaves with dijon mustard and a sprinkle of mozzarella cheese.

Dinner

tilapia

Macademia crusted tilapia with roasted brussel sprouts.

dinner2

Dinner was EXCELLENT!  It’s been a very long time since I’ve cooked tilapia OR brussel sprouts for that matter and were very tasty!

One thought on “WIAW #9: Snow Day

  1. cleaneatingveggiegirl March 6, 2013 at 2:25 pm Reply

    LOVE that coffee cup! It is so cute and cheerful!

    I am so glad that you posted about your almonds! I had NO idea that they made an almond bean flavor. I love the cocoa roasted and cinnamon roasted flavors, so I am sure that those are amazing too!

Leave a Reply

