Bridal Expo

Hello from Evansville, Indiana!

hotel room

I’m out of town for an audit this week and spending a couple nights in this glamorous hotel room.  We arrived late yesterday afternoon and had dinner at a local German restaurant called Gerst Haus.  Unfortunately, dinner was followed by homework back at the hotel room.

textbook

The final for my Economics class takes place next Thursday and has completely snuck up on me.  I haven’t prepared one bit so I’m scrambling to fit in any studying I can throughout the next week and a half.  Not fun!

Bridal Expo

Enough of the boring homework talk, let’s chat about the Bridal Expo I went to with these lovely ladies on Sunday.

darcy ashley lauren

Darcy, Ashley and I met for brunch at Egg Harbor before attending the Bridal Expo in Downers Grove.

mug

I fell in love with their coffee mugs and just had to buy one!  I later found out the mugs are all handmade by a potter in St. Paul, MN and are then engraved with the restaurant’s name and specific location.

bridal expo ticket

With full bellies, we made it over to the expo to look around.  None of us knew what to expect but I was pleasantly surprised.  

martini

Vendors lined the banquet hall and were giving away lots of free trips and services.  I especially enjoyed looking at the centerpieces to get ideas on the different styles I liked or didn’t care for.

center piece

Other vendors included tuxedo rental companies, DJs, limo services, florists, travel agencies, bridal registry stores, bakeries, wedding gown shops, etc.

One of our favorite tables was a bakery in Elmhurst giving away mini cupcakes which were to die for!  The other favorite had to be the french fry bar sponsored by a local hotel promoting its food.  They served both regular and sweet potato fries, cheese sauce and lots of different seasonings and sauces for dipping!  Delish!

photo booth

Finally before rolling out of the expo absolutely stuffed, we pitstopped to snap a few glamour shots!  I’ve certainly had my fair share of photo booths this weekend!

Sunday Funday!! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Bridal Expo

  1. Kim March 12, 2013 at 9:37 pm Reply

    Bridal Expos are so fun! During my first year of college, I worked at a wedding and reception hall and I loved seeing all the different wedding themes. Do you have any ideas yet or a date set? What are you going to school for?

    • lrsaar March 13, 2013 at 9:05 am Reply

      That sounds like a fun job! I bet you have a lot of great ideas 🙂
      So far the plan is to have our wedding in Clearwater Beach on May 3rd, although we haven’t officially signed anything yet since we are still working out the details with the resort. And I’m going back to school to get my MBA!

Leave a Reply

