Crossfit Open 13.2

Whewww today’s workout was TOUGH.

Although I’m not competing in the Crossfit Games this year, I still attended Crossfit this morning and joined everyone in the 13.2 WOD (Workout of the Day).  The Crossfit Games are very new to me but basically it is a competition among Crossfitters nationwide.  It has three stages, beginning with the Crossfit Open which is 5 weeks long, 1 workout per week and anybody can compete.  Today was the second workout called 13.2 and it. was. killer.

13.2

For women, the prescribed 13.2 open workout consists of:

  • 5 Shoulder-to-Overheads (push press, overhead press, push jerk, etc.) 75 lbs
  • 10 Deadlifts 75 lbs
  • 15 Box Jumps (or step-ups) on a 20 inch box

Each person completes as many rounds as the can of these 3 exercises in the alotted 10 minutes.

wod

I loved the motivation written on the board!  Your mind definitely plays tricks on you with many of these workouts and often times you begin thinking you can’t get through the whole thing, but in the very end if you keep pushing and you give it your best, you end with a very rewarding feeling!

I accomplished a total of 7 rounds, plus 15 reps into the 8th round.  Five rounds were at the prescribed weight and then I had to drop down from 75 lbs to 55 for my last 2 and a half rounds.  This is actually much better than I anticipated so I’m very proud of myself!

Breakfast

bfast 2

Immediately following the 13.2 WOD, I was craving a big bowl of eggs so I had to pop in the grocery store on my way home to grab some since we were all out.  Dave and I have both been on a major egg kick recently and we’re going through them like crazy!

bfast 1

Scrambled eggs with sauteed green onions, red bell pepper, and mushroom, plus avocado stirred in at the end.  Perfect fuel to get the day going!

Now, Mac Daddy and I are off to the dog park to burn off his puppy energy so I can get some serious studying in today without distractions. 😉

Hope everyone has a great Saturday and if you’re celebrating St. Patty’s Day today/tonight, be safe!

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

