Crossfit Open Workout 13.3

So I did it again.

I drove my butt over to Crossfit this morning with plans to endure 12 minutes of pain in another open workout.

check your ego at the door

I walked up to the door, read this sign, turned around and went back home….

…just kidding! 😉

But this sign couldn’t apply more to Crossfit.  Nearly every time I read a workout when I first started, I think to myself, “psshh this will be a piece a cake!”  And you want to know what?  I was wrong EVERY. SINGLE. TIME.

Since I’ve been doing Crossfit for the last couple months, that mentality is quickly weaning away.  I am finally getting it through my head that none of these workouts are easy.  They are brutal.  But like I’ve said before, they bring a such an amazing level of satisfaction once completed and I walk out with a high sense of accomplishment.

13.3

Having said all that, when the Crossfit Games announced this week’s open workout, there was not one ounce of me that thought this would be easy.

crossfit 13.3 workout

Okay so first of all, 150 wall balls?  Ouch.  In case you are unfamiliar, wall balls consist of squatting down holding a giant medicine ball and throwing it up against the wall.  Ladies use 14 lbs and throw at a 9 ft target.

cross2

One double under is jumping rope where the rope goes under your feet twice in one hop.  Yikes.  And finally, a muscle up is where you hold onto 2 gymnastics rings and pull yourself all the way up.  All the exercises are shown here.

My results?  I completed 150 wall balls and 28 double-unders in 12 minutes and I felt like I was going to die.  But again, looking back I’m glad I gave it a try!

Walk & Breakfast

Per the usual Saturday morning, I took Mac on a nice 30 minute walk.

mac

Although it’s still annoyingly cold for the end of March, it didn’t seem so bad today since the sun was bright and shining!

shadow

I swear the sun has all the difference in the world when it’s cold outside.  Just makes me one happy girl!

bfast

Breakfast might not be all that much to look at, but it was tasty and satisfying!  Scrambled eggs, chicken sausage and avocado.  Yummy!

Now I’m off for a girls’ weekend in Springfield… Spring Break 2013 baby! 😉

Leave a Reply

