Splash of Milk & Avocado Tricks

Gooooood morning!

AVOCADO EGGS 2

The day began with a warm bowl of scrambled eggs with avocado, Cholula hot sauce and a little salt and pepper, which is quickly becoming my go-to breakfast or some similar variation.

Up until recently, I simply just whisked a few eggs together with some salt and pepper and poured in a heated skillet.

EGGS22

I thought my eggs were very tasty, that is until I started adding a splash of milk to the mix and it brought everything to the next level!  The inclusion of milk (about 1-2 tbls) yields fluffier, creamer eggs.  Who knew there would be such a difference?

Avocado Tricks

Apparently, scrambled eggs go hand-in-hand with avocados… or at least in my world.  I simply can’t get enough of the creamy combo!

AVOCADO 2

As I was cooking breakfast, I thought of a few tricks I’ve learned when preparing an avocado so I figured I’d share!

Checking for Ripeness

Recently I was browsing around on Pinterst (of course) and came across an interesting tip for determining whether an avocado is ripe.

AVOCADO 3

The pin suggested to pop off the stem and if it light green inside, the avocado is ready for devouring!  If it’s brown, then it means it’s overly ripe and likely to be mushy inside.

AVOCADO 4

Mine turned out nearly perfect!  I’m not sure this is necessarily a foolproof method since I’ve only tried it once but in this case, it worked.  I generally give them a gentle squeeze and if they’re slightly soft, then I deem them ready to eat.

Easy Dicing Method

As my eggs were cooking away, I diced up an avocado.

AVOCADO 5

I’ve found the easiest, cleanest way to cut up an avocado is to slice it vertically and horizontally and then scoop it out with a large spoon.

AVOCADO EGGS

I used to scoop out the entire half with a spoon and then try to dice it, but I always ended up with a giant mess so I prefer the dice, then scoop method.

Storing Avocado

Avocados ripen faster in room temperature and even faster when put in a brown paper bag (much like a banana will).  If the avocado is already ripe, store in the fridge up to a few days so it slows the ripening process.

How do you determine when an avocado is ripe?  Any other good tricks?

2 thoughts on “Splash of Milk & Avocado Tricks

  1. cleaneatingveggiegirl March 26, 2013 at 11:58 am Reply

    Eggs and avocado make for theeee best combination! I love eating both for breakfast :).

  2. […] I guess I already spilled the beans on this […]

Leave a Reply

