WIAW #12: Michigan Ave Audit

Guys, I am crossing my fingers the weathermen are right for the week ahead.  Supposedly, the temperatures will be in the 50s this weekend!  Amazing!  It’s about time.

Yesterday I was on yet another audit… seems to be the norm lately.  Except this one was in Chicago so I didn’t have to fly anywhere or stay in any hotels.  Score!

Here’s how my day went with a focus on food, my very favorite subject.  😉

Breakfast

Well, I guess I already spilled the beans on this one.

AVOCADO EGGS 2

Scrambled eggs, diced avocado and hot sauce. Mmm mmm.

I wasn’t sure what to expect with morning traffic driving from St. Charles into the city.  You just never know so I allowed myself 2 hours.

coffee

Totally overestimated on time… by nearly twice as long!  I was able to park and stop in a local coffee shop for about 45 minutes before I had to be at the audit.  I have to admit it was pretty nice having extra time to check my emails and enjoy a cup of coffee before beginning the work day.

Mid Morning Snack

pure protein

A couple hours later I ate a chocolate deluxe pure protein bar to quiet down my grumbling stomach.

Lunch

Out of all the restaurants on Michigan Avenue, Subway was yesterday’s lunch choice.  Time was limited so we had to choose something quick.

subway

Six inch whole wheat sub with roast beef and the works… lettuce, tomato, onion, green pepper, cucumber, banana peppers and yellow mustard.  Plus apples and water on the side.

Afternoon Snack

I didn’t really have anything packed for an afternoon snack so by the time I got home, I was hungry!

hummus carrots

I started with baby carrots and roasted pine nut hummus but after a few handfuls, it just wasn’t cutting it for me.

nuts

So I moved onto almonds… and then macadamia nuts… and then pistachios.  I mindlessly snacked until Dave got home with dinner.

Dinner

Dave and I have been dying to grill out lately but have been holding off because of the cold.

steak and asparagusBut wait no more!  The grill has been officially broken in this year.  Dave did an EXCELLENT job with the steaks and asparagus, both cooked perfectly on the grill.

mac

Meanwhile, our third roommate waited patiently on the rug until we were finished and ready for some snuggling!  Always a great way to end the day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

