WIAW #13: Tap House Grill

Halfway through the week already!  The last two days have flown by (as much as they can for a work day) because I’ve had a lot on my plate with work and have been super productive.  Always a good feeling!

Speaking of plates, I’m up to bat for another What I Ate Wednesday post! 😉

Breakfast

I fit in my longest half marathon training run to date of 9 miles early yesterday morning.  I was impressed how great I felt during those last couple miles!

arbonne chocolate protein shake

Immediately following my run, I downed a chocolate protein shake to replenish my energy.  I love the convenience factor of the individual cartons, no shaking or mixing powder required!

greek yogurt bananas blackberries almond butter

About an hour later, I ate my usual greek yogurt bowl – bananas on the bottom, greek yogurt layer, topped with blackberries and drippy cinnamon vanilla almond butter.

Mid Morning Snack

PR Bar and Peach Pear La CroixI worked away for a few hours before my appetite forced me to pull out a snack.  I had a Chocolate Peanut PR Bar and a La Croix, Peach-Pear flavor!

Lunch

For lunch, I prepared a wrap and a chopped veggie salad.

ham swiss dijon wrap

I spread a Laughing Cow Swiss Cheese wedge over a whole wheat tortilla and wrapped up baby mix green lettuce, leftover ham from Easter, and a squirt of Dijon mustard.

chopped veggie salad

I needed to use up some veggies in the fridge before they went bad so I finely chopped up red bell pepper, green bell pepper, English cucumber, green onions, and grape tomatoes.  I tossed it all in a balsamic vinaigrette and sprinkled feta cheese over the top.  This turned out delicious and soo fresh-tasting!

Afternoon Snack

Like clockwork, I started to get hungry again late afternoon.

Cottage Cheese Bananas Sunflower Butter

Look familiar?  Very similar to breakfast, I sliced up banana and layered on the bottom with cottage cheese on top and a glob of sunflower butter.

Peach Pear La Croix

Because I’m quite addicted to La Croix, I drank another peach-pear to wash it down.

Roasted Kettle Kernels Handful

I worked a bit later yesterday so I was already hungry again on my way home.  I snacked on a few handfuls of these roasted kettle kernels.

roasted kettle kernels

They taste like a cross between those half-popped popcorn kernels at the bottom of the bowl and corn puff cereal.  Soooo good!

Dinner

I easily could’ve eaten that entire bag of kernels but refrained since Dave and I met his parents for a bite to eat.  At my friend Darcy’s recommendation, we tried out the Tap House Grill in St. Charles.

Tap House Chop Chop Salad

I ordered the “Tap House Chop Chop” salad and added rotisserie chicken.  Romaine lettuce, celery, tomatoes, garbanzo beans, pepperoncinis, bacon, bleu and parmesan cheese, cucumbers and onions with a herb-balsamic vinaigrette.

Amazing, I tell ya!  They chopped up all the ingredients super finely so I got an equal tasting of everything in each bite.  Loved it!

pinot noir

And a glass of Pinot Noir after a long day! 😉

Everyone else loved their food as well!  Dave and I have been searching for a go-to dinner spot and on our way home last night, we both agreed this might be our new favorite!  Thanks Darcy!

2 thoughts on “WIAW #13: Tap House Grill

  1. cleaneatingveggiegirl April 3, 2013 at 10:52 am Reply

    I have never tried roasted kettle kernels but they sound super tasty! Where did you buy them at? I would love to try them.

  2. Nature Box | Berry Sweet Lauren April 5, 2013 at 7:01 am Reply

    […] briefly mentioned these in my WIAW post earlier this week.  They are a bit like half-popped popcorn kernels with a little sweetness […]

Leave a Reply

