WIAW #14: Adobe Gilas

Look at what’s being built as we speak I type and you read…

chi-rosemont-outlet-mall-adds-bloomies-neimans-001

Source

Ahh I’m so excited!  They are building an outlet mall about 3 minutes from my work in Rosemont.

When I first started working in the area, there was very little to do.  Most of the surrounding buildings are other business offices and hotels, along with the convention center.  My coworkers and I have always had a tough time trying to find decent sit-down restaurants (besides fast food) or anywhere to hang out after work.  This was all up until a couple years ago when they added an entertainment district with a bunch of nice restaurants and bars, including Toby Keith’s I Love This Bar, Zanie’s Comedy Club, and Kings Bowling Alley.

Still, the area lacks any good shopping.  The only place nearby is Target which, don’t get me wrong, is better than nothing but just doesn’t cut it all the time.  But come August, we will have a huge fashion outlet mall with awesome stores!  Some stores I’m especially looking forward to Michael Kors, BCBG, Coach, Nike, Saks Fifth Avenue Off 5th, Limited, Tory Burch, among many others!  I seriously cannot wait!

What I Ate Wednesday

Okay, now that I’ve gotten some of the excitement out of my system, let’s take a peek at another day of food.

Breakfast

I prepped a batch of protein pancakes the night before following this recipe, minus the lemon Stevia and blueberries.

pbj protein pancake

I ate 3 of these protein pancakes smeared with peanut butter and jelly (this picture was the prettiest so became the representative for all three).  I was surprised at how delicious these were as leftovers served cold/room temp.  Very filling!  I will definitely be making these again.

Mid Morning Snack

roast beef wrap

Whole wheat tortilla wrapped around roast beef, spinach leaves, and yellow mustard.

I know, it’s a rather odd morning snack but I had already packed the rest of my food and realized I was still without something to hold me between breakfast and lunch.  I remembered I had roast beef deli meat that would likely go bad if I didn’t use it up quickly and thus, a roast beef wrap was had at 10 am!

Lunch

sloppy joe and roasted veggies

Homemade Sloppy Joe filling (obviously minus the bun), alongside roasted cauliflower and brussel sprouts.  Leftovers are just very un-photogenic, aren’t they?  My apologies. Oh well, sure tasted good!

Afternoon Snack

About an hour after lunch, I was ready for a tiny dessert.

reese's egg

Last Reese’s Peanut Butter Egg of the season.  😦

turkey jerky

I picked up this Turkey Jerky in the check out line at Target and stashed it away in my desk drawer.  Since I knew I would be having an early dinner, I didn’t want to ruin my appetite but needed something. Turkey Jerky to the rescue!  (I’ve never had it before but it tastes almost identical to beef jerky.)

Dinner

Oh man, am I glad I saved plenty of room for dinner!

csf girls group pic

A group of us girls from work (including 2 former coworkers) all met at Adobe Gilas, the Mexican restaurant located in the Rosemont entertainment district.

adobe gilas guacamole

We started off with tri-colored tortilla chips dipped in guacamole and salsa and a few drinks.

adobe gilas tacos

Since it was $2 taco night, everyone ordered a combination of different kinds.  I had the buffalo chicken taco (crispy buffalo chicken and blue cheese) and the carne asada taco (steak, cilantro, and onions).  Cheap and yummy!

Tagged: , , , ,

One thought on “WIAW #14: Adobe Gilas

  1. cleaneatingveggiegirl April 10, 2013 at 3:50 pm Reply

    Outlet malls are just plain fabulous!!…not so fabulous for the credit card, though! 😉

Leave a Reply

