TJ’s Hummus & Ab Circuit

Are you a hummus lover?

trader joes cilantro and jalapeno hummus

If so, you must try this stuff!  Creamy Cilantro and Jalapeno Hummus – I bought it at Trader Joe’s the other day and just opened it up yesterday morning to add to my scrambled eggs.

BFAST22I sauteed up some pre-roasted asparagus, zucchini, summer squash and red onion first before scrambling in a couple eggs.  Once the eggs were cooked through, I stirred in a few spoonfuls of jalapeno cilantro hummus and topped with melty Parmesan cheese.  WOW!

(The only thing I forgot was my beloved avocado. But there will definitely be a next time!)

cilantro jalapeno hummus and flackers

It has just a slight spicy flavor so if you can’t handle a lot of heat, I think you would still enjoy it.  I loved the hummus so much that I immediately dug in as I was preparing dinner.  Half the container gone in one day!

Quick Medicine Ball Ab Circuit

I always like to end a good cardio workout with some core work incorporated into my stretching.  I did the following workout with a medicine ball this week and I was surprisingly sore the next day!  Must’ve done something right. 😉

quick medicine ball ab circuit2

LA Fitness was slacking in the medicine ball department that particular morning and I was left with the choice between either a 9 or 4 lb ball.  I’m glad I chose the heavier of the two because I believe that’s what caused the soreness!  No pain, no gain 😉   My recommendation if you complete this circuit is to pick a challenging weight for yourself since it’s a quick little workout!

I always struggle with remembering the names of these core workouts, so here are some pics I grabbed from the internet for reference.

Russian Twists

russian twist with medicine ball

1 rep counts as touching the left side once and the right side once.

Vertical Sit-Ups with Medicine Ball

vertical sit ups

This is showing the down position.  Raise up into a sit up holding the ball with straight arms while raising it straight up into the air.

Medicine Ball V-Ups

v ups with med ball

This move gets rather difficult, especially if the ball is on the heavier side.  I did a modification by raising one leg at a time instead of both.

Tagged: , ,

One thought on “TJ’s Hummus & Ab Circuit

  1. cleaneatingveggiegirl April 11, 2013 at 12:47 pm Reply

    Am I a hummus lover? Hah, now that is a silly question!! 😉 I am obsessed with hummus. Right now I especially love TJ’s tomato and basil flavor. Your idea to add it to eggs is genius. I will definitely be trying that out.

Leave a Reply

