Sloppy Joe’s From Scratch

Have some more sloppy joes.  I made ’em extra sloppy for you.  I know how you kids like ’em extra sloppy.”  <—- Name that movie!

sloppy joe1

Oh my gosh, too funny!  Dave quotes that every now and again and it never fails to crack me up!

I had a random, but very serious, craving for Sloppy Joe’s the other night.

manwich

While quite tempted to use Manwich from the can (so gross, but soo soo good!), I decided to attempt a healthier, less processed version.

sloppy joe3

And you want to know what?  It was almost as easy as opening a can.  And although it’s been a long time since I’ve had Manwich (<— ok, that name is kinda grosses me out!), I’d have to say it tastes even better! 😉

sloppy joe's from scratch

Homemade Sloppy Joes

slightly adapted from Rachael Ray’s recipe

Serves 4 Hungry Joe’s

Ingredients:

sloppy joe ingredients

1 tbsp olive oil (or spray)

1 medium yellow onion, finely chopped

1/2 red bell pepper, finely chopped

1 lb ground beef

1 8 oz. can tomato sauce

1/4 cup barbeque sauce

1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

1 tbsp yellow mustard

1 tbsp steak seasoning

4 whole wheat buns (I used sandwich thins because that’s all I had on hand)

Directions:

1.  Heat oil in the pan and add chopped onion and bell pepper.  Saute for 3-4 minutes until slightly softened.

2.  Add ground beef to the pan and cook until no longer pink.

3.  Drain excess grease from the pan, if desired.  (Depends on how lean the ground beef is.)

4.  Combine remaining ingredients in a small bowl and add to the pan.

5.  Simmer for about 15 minutes until thickened.

sloppy joes pan

6.  Spoon a 1/4 of the meat onto each and serve!

sloppy joe2

Note:  Once the sauce has been added, give it a taste test.  If you prefer Sloppy Joe’s on the sweeter side, you may want to add a little brown sugar depending on the type and sweetness of the BBQ sauce you use.  I thought mine was just sweet enough as it was!

sloppy joe4Don’t forget the napkins!

Tagged: , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Sloppy Joe’s From Scratch

  1. Makenzie Ann April 12, 2013 at 8:50 am Reply

    Yum! I haven’t had sloppy joes in foreva! Hahah and now that you point it out I’m a little grossed out by manwhich too :/ but what’s the movie I can’t think if it?!

    • lrsaar April 12, 2013 at 12:01 pm Reply

      Billy Madison… such a dumb movie but that part makes me laugh! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  2. cleaneatingveggiegirl April 12, 2013 at 9:12 am Reply

    Have you ever tried making sloppy joe’s with lentils? They are delicious! In fact, it is funny that you posted this today because I actually just made Thai lentil sloppy joe’s last night. So, so darn good!!

    • lrsaar April 12, 2013 at 12:02 pm Reply

      No I’ve never tried it that way, but I LOVE lentils! Great idea, thanks 🙂

  3. Kendra @ sunshine and shoes April 12, 2013 at 9:12 am Reply

    mmmmm…that looks SO good! I’ll have to try it! Might be a good weekend dinner. Thanks for sharing!

    • lrsaar April 12, 2013 at 12:02 pm Reply

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  4. Taryn April 12, 2013 at 12:12 pm Reply

    It’s hard to eat sloppy joes without quoting Billy Madison!

  5. Cheryl April 13, 2013 at 1:39 pm Reply

    That looks sooo good! Love to try them!

  6. Jan @ Sprouts n Squats April 13, 2013 at 11:40 pm Reply

    Yum this recipe looks great! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  7. […] Sloppy Joe’s From Scratch (berrysweetlauren.com) […]

Leave a Reply

