Chocolate {Protein} Cake with Creamy Peanut Butter “Frosting”

Boy, was I in baddddd shape yesterday!  Hence the lack of my normal Monday post…

It’s amazing what the lack of sleep will do to you.  Although we didn’t have any really late nights this past weekend, I was so super tired on Monday.  I generally function the best when I’ve consistently had 8+ hours of sleep each night, but lately that just hasn’t been happening.  Not only have I been in bed for less than 8 hours each night over the last week, but I keep waking up every 2 hours or so.  Problem is I can’t pinpoint why I’m not sleeping through the night.  Hopefully, it’s short lived because this girl needs her sleep!

No amount of coffee, 5 hour energies, sugar, etc. could shake off my exhaustion so I was in bed extra early last night and skipped a morning workout to catch some extra ZZZ’s.  And I’m happy to report, I’m feeling much better this morning. 🙂

Sunday

On Sunday, we had my family over to grill out since my brother, Peter, and sister-in-law, Nikki, are in town.

It turned out to be such a beautiful day!  Only in Chicago does it snow one day and then 24 hours later be 70 degrees and sunny.  I’ll never understand it.

With everyone’s help, we made a huge dinner!  On the grill: steaks, chicken, zucchini, asparagus, and garlic bread.  Plus a tomato-mozzarella-avocado salad and some roasted new potatoes.  Unfortunately, I failed to take any pictures.  I guess I was too busy enjoying the company! 😉

Chocolate {Protein} Cake with Creamy Peanut Butter “Frosting”

chocolate peanut butter protein cake6

I’ve been dying to share this chocolate protein cake since last week.  I followed this recipe but changed up a few of the ingredients and added some “frosting”.

chocolate peanut butter protein cake5

The best part about this tasty little treat is it’s healthy!

chocolate peanut butter protein cake11

And you could totally eat it for breakfast.  MMMM!

chocolate peanut butter protein cake4

Plus, it has peanut butter.  And chocolate.  A winning combination in my book!

chocolate peanut butter protein cake12

Chocolate Protein Cake with Creamy Peanut Butter “Frosting”

Adapted from this recipe.

Serves 2

Ingredients:

protein cake ingredients

Chocolate Protein Cake

2 scoops chocolate protein powder (I used Sunwarrior brand)

2 tbsp coconut flour

1 tbsp cocoa powder

1 tsp baking powder

3/4 cup almond milk (I used unsweetened vanilla flavor)

2 eggs

Dash of salt

Handful of mini chocolate chips (optional)

Oil or cooking spray (I used a little melted coconut oil)

Creamy Peanut Butter Frosting

3 tbsp creamy peanut butter

1-2 tbsp greek yogurt (I used plain but vanilla would be good too!)

Directions:

1.  Mix all protein cake ingredients (except chocolate chips) until well-combined with no lumps.  If possible, use a small blender or hand-held beater to ensure a smooth consistency.

chocolate protein cake2

2.  Pour into two small oiled/greased ramekins or microwaveable bowls.  Sprinkle with chocolate chips, if using.

chocolate protein cake1

3.  Microwave for 3 1/2 minutes or until the middle is set.

chocolate protein cake4

4.  Remove from ramekin and cool on a cooling rack.  Meanwhile, mix together peanut butter and yogurt to make the frosting.  Once completely cooled, spread an even layer over the top and serve.

chocolate peanut butter protein cake8

Tagged: , ,

One thought on “Chocolate {Protein} Cake with Creamy Peanut Butter “Frosting”

  1. […] Sunday’s feast with the family, the fridge is packed with leftovers and other food that needs to be eaten up […]

Leave a Reply

