WIAW #14: Clean Out the Fridge

Soo I have a countdown posted in our house to keep track of the days until our mini-vacation in Florida.

countdown

And in case you were wondering… yes, I am fully aware I am acting like a child.  I’m just ecstatic to get out of this Chicago weather and take a break from reality for a few days. 🙂

What I Ate Wednesday

After Sunday’s feast with the family, the fridge is packed with leftovers and other food that needs to be eaten up before we leave on our trip.  Although I usually eat ‘leftovers’ in some form each day, this week has been especially dedicated to using up any and all food that might spoil while we’re gone.

If you’re unfamiliar with WIAW, check out the host, Peas and Crayons, to find out what it’s all about.

Breakfast

I skipped working out in the am yesterday in order to fit in an extra hour of sleep that my body so desperately needed.

leftover grilled veggies scrambled eggs

I sauteed up some red and orange bell peppers, along with Sunday’s grilled zucchini and summer squash, and topped with a few scrambled eggs and shredded Parmesan cheese.

PR Bar Peanut Butter Granola

About 20 minutes further into my drive, I was still hungry (probably because I slept through dinner the night before) so I dug out a Peanut Butter Granola PR Bar from my purse to enjoy with my coffee.

Mid Morning Snack

Breakfast satisfied me until about 10:30 and while I probably could’ve held off another hour or so until lunch, I ate the snack I packed anyways.

leftover mozzarella tomato avocado salad with basil dressing

Hmmm… not the most appetizing-looking but it was delicious!  Again from Sunday – tomato, mozzarella and avocado salad with homemade basil vinaigrette.  Love this combo!

Lunch

Lunch looked a lot like breakfast, with a few substitutions.

leftover grilled veggies and chicken

Same veggie base, plus grilled chicken instead of eggs and this Mmmm Sauce instead of cheese.

Honestly, I have no idea how to go about explaining the flavor of this sauce, except that it is so darn good!!  The one downfall is it requires nutritional yeast which isn’t an ingredient you typically find in the average pantry.  But if you do have access to it, seriously, you have to try this sauce.  I found the nutritional yeast at a local health food store.  The Mmmm Sauce has such a unique and absolutely delicious flavor and the name fits it perfectly!

Afternoon Snack

I was a very busy bee after lunch running around trying to wrap up a few loose ends before heading off on vacation for several days.  The afternoon flew by and all of a sudden I was hungry again.

yogurt bananas pb

A familiar breakfast combo turned into a snack – sliced banana with Greek yogurt and a scoop of chunky peanut butter.

Dinner

Sighhh this is where I wish I could just cut off this post.  Dinner was pathetic.  Actually there wasn’t a ‘dinner’, just lots of snacks followed by a very early bedtime.

trail mix

I polished off the remaining trail mix I made this weekend.

popcorn

Then finished the rest of the birthday popcorn I made for my Dad and Nikki (whose birthdays are both coming up!).

And then, I proceeded to raid the pantry and ate a bunch of random food, including some vanilla almonds, dates, and two spoonfuls of peanut butter.

Pathetic, I know.  Hey, there is always today to get back into healthy eating again! 😉

Have a great Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

