Seven Layered Greek Hummus Dip

There has been a lot of snuggling going on around here lately.  I mean, up until Monday night I hadn’t seen my puppy in 5 whole days!  That’s a long time, if you ask me.

Mac2

Okayyyy, so maybe he’s not technically a puppy anymore.  In fact, we made a pit stop in Petsmart the other day and he weighed in at a whopping 90 lbs!  Probably seems like a lot (and it is!) but I would’ve bet money he was on the heavier end of the 95-100 lb range.

Mac

Speaking of Big Mac’s….

katie text

And in case you can’t see that microscopic photo…

huge lap dog

I could not stop laughing at this picture!  Probably because of how much it relates to me and Mac.

Seven Layered Greek Hummus Dip

So my oven is still broken, sadly.  But it hasn’t stopped me entirely from cooking or making delicious food.   So today, I have a yummy dip recipe for you!

greek dip 6b

Quite similar to the concept of a layered taco dip, except with all the flavors of a Greek salad chopped up and layered over creamy hummus.  Perfect for scooping up with crispy pita chips!

seven layered greek hummus dip

Ingredients:

1 container hummus (any flavor will work, I used roasted garlic)

About 1/4-1/3 cup of the following:

  • English cucumber, finely chopped
  • Red/orange bell pepper, finely chopped
  • Kalamata olives, pitted and halved
  • Feta cheese, crumbled
  • Scallions, finely chopped (chives or shallots would work too)

1 tbls fresh dill, chopped

Directions:

Spread hummus evenly into a shallow container (I used a pie pan).  Layer cucumber, pepper, olives, feta cheese, and scallions, and sprinkle fresh dill over the top.  Serve with pita chips or crudités.

***

As my sister-in-law, Nikki, pointed out a couple weekends ago, it’s a very festive dip!  Not only is it super easy to throw together in 10 min or less, it’s very fresh-tasting and healthy.  It’s an excellent appetizer to make-ahead for a party to incorporate something lighter than your traditional cheese/cream/fat laden dips you normally find at parties.

Enjoy! 🙂

Tagged: , , , , , ,

One thought on “Seven Layered Greek Hummus Dip

  1. cleaneatingveggiegirl April 25, 2013 at 4:38 pm Reply

    Ohhh geeez that dip looks amazing!! I LOVE hummus and I really enjoy Greek-inspired dishes. This sounds like a winner to me :).

Leave a Reply

