Southwestern Zucchini & Bean Saute

Who is glad it’s Friday?

I can’t even tell you how excited I am that this work week is almost over.  It’s been a longgggg past few days.  The downside is I’ll be busy catching up on my online class that I’ve been putting off for, ohhh let’s see, the last 5 weeks!

E Cards - School Procrastination Homework

Oh how I wish this was the case!  I have only ever taken one other online class and I thought it was a breeze!  Looking back, however, I’m realizing it was because I had an assignment or quiz due every week which helped keep me right on track.  BUT the current class I’m enrolled in has an incredibly loose structure.  Basically, we just have to finish all the assignments, papers, quizzes, tests, etc. on our own time by the end of the semester.

To tell ya the truth, after last semester being incredibly stressful, it felt great to take several weeks off but now I’m definitely regretting my decision.

nothing makes me more productive than the last minute 1

The only thing going for me is that I work well under pressure.  And trust me, I’m down to the wire. School will be my life for the next several weeks.  😦

With all that being said, let’s lighten the mood with a recipe, shall we?

Southwestern Zucchini & Bean Saute

southwestern zucchini and bean saute 6

Although I didn’t follow a recipe and just threw together a few ingredients, this veggie packed bowl came together surprisingly well.

southwestern zucchini and bean saute 8

In addition to the pinto beans, I scooped a heaping spoonful of plain Greek yogurt to amp up the protein, but I bet it would be delicious with some ground turkey or sliced sausage as well.

southwestern zucchini and bean saute 7b

Ingredients:

Cooking spray or olive oil

1 onion, diced

2 zucchinis, halved lengthwise and then sliced

4 medium tomatoes, diced

1 cup of frozen fire-roasted corn (can use regular too)

1 can of pinto beans, drained and rinsed

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp chili powder

1/2 tsp salt

Cilantro, chopped (optional)

Plain Greek yogurt (optional)

Directions:

Saute the diced onion with a little olive oil or cooking spray over medium heat for about 3-4 minutes before adding the zucchini.  Cook for another 4-5 minutes until zucchini is tender crisp and add tomatoes.  Continue to move the veggies around the pan while they cook until desired “doneness”.  Mix in corn, pinto beans, and spices (through salt) until corn and beans are heated through.

southwestern zucchini and bean saute 1

Scoop into bowls and garnish with cilantro and yogurt (or sour cream) if desired.

southwestern zucchini and bean saute 5

southwester zucchini and bean saute 4

Hope you have a stressfree, relaxing weekend!!

Tagged: ,

One thought on “Southwestern Zucchini & Bean Saute

  1. lifeaslisaknowsit May 11, 2013 at 5:53 am Reply

    I just recently found your blog and love it! Have a great weekend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

