Race Day Prep

Happy Friday!

It’s hard to believe in the less than 2 days, I’ll be running the Chicago Spring Half Marathon!

half

Here are a few thoughts I’ve had leading up to Sunday:

Training

I have to say, I had hoped to be a bit more prepared for this race but due to some personal issues, my training was sidelined for a couple weeks.

BUT the good news is I’m back up and running!  The longest run during my training was 11 miles and I’m not going to lie, it was tough.  I maintained about a 9 minute pace the entire distance which is really great for me personally.  Since my last (and first) half marathon a few years ago, I have come strides <pun intended> in physical ability and strength (mostly thanks to CrossFit), and have consequently shaved off about 1 minute per mile in time, so I can’t complain.  It’s crazy what your body can do when you challenge yourself!

Goals

With that being said, my goal for Sunday is ultimately just to finish the 13.1 mile distance, but I also hope to pace myself, as well as push myself a little.  Although I won’t be focusing too much on speed, I’m shooting for (and would be happy with) finishing with less than a 10 minute pace.  Since I’ve only run 11 miles thus far, I’m hoping my adrenaline carries me the remaining 2.1 miles across the finish line. 😉

Most importanly, no matter how things go (i.e. weather, fatigue, etc.), I know I’m going to have a blast!  I am so excited to have Cassie running this with me this time around (although I know she’ll kick my butt) and I can’t wait for our Sunday Funday afterwards!

Race Day Gear

Cassie and I decided we both wanted to wear something with bright colors or crazy design… something to stand out!

DSC_1524

I originally purchased these capris in a bright orange/pink and purple color but I haven’t decided if I want to wear capris or shorts yet so I may return these.

DSC_1523

I also bought this shirt which I’m totally loving.  I have another Nike Pro brand t-shirt like this that I absolutely love running in for its comfort, as well as the fact there is no chaffage.  (<– is that a word?)

BUT I’m being really indecisive and have my eye on a tank top at Dick’s Sporting Goods… so we’ll just have to wait and see what I end up with.

Playlist

I’ve been working on putting together a solid playlist to last me through the race.  I want to include songs that are upbeat and motivating!

ipod

So far in the queue, I have:

  • Sweet Nothing by Calvin Harris feat. Florence Welch
  • Alive by Krewella
  • Can’t Hold Us by Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
  • Don’t You Worry Child by Swedish House Mafia
  • Set It Off by Timomatic
  • Crickets by Drop City Yacht Club

Apparently, my taste in running music leans towards techno-ish songs.  I guess I just like to have energetic music to help keep me motivated!

I obviously need a lot more to cover 13.1 miles, any suggestions?  What genre of music ‘pumps’ you up?

***

Have a great weekend and wish us luck!

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Race Day Prep

  1. Kim May 18, 2013 at 12:35 am Reply

    I’m more of a classic rock and rap type of girl. I usually never stay on top of new music as I have Sirius and listen to Howard Stern on the way to and from work. Good luck this weekend!

  2. […] I mentioned before, my goals were to 1) run the entire 13.1 miles, 2) pace myself, 3) push myself a little bit, and 4) […]

Leave a Reply

