WIAW #18: Bowls of Goodness

Gooood morning!  Hope you’re having a fantastic week so far!  Only a couple more days before the long Memorial Day weekend. 🙂

Before I head off to St Louis for an audit this week, here is another What I Ate Wednesday post.

Breakfast

I’m pretty much obsessed with this scrambled egg combination and I’ve been eating it up like crazy lately.  Since I’m taking a few days off to recover, I have extra time in the morning to prepare a hot bowl of eggs.

scrambled eggs avocado feta cholula

Three eggs scrambled with a splash of milk and dash of salt and pepper, topped with half a diced avocado, lots of crumbled feta cheese, and few shakes of Cholula hot sauce.

mcdonalds coffee

When I arrived up at my desk, I had a piping hot cup of coffee from Mickey D’s waiting for me, courtesy of one of my coworkers. 🙂

Mid Morning Snack

I dove straight into work and was able to accomplish a lot without checking the clock every 20 minutes which definitely made the first half of the day go by in a flash!  Love days like those.

roasted red pepper hummus snap peas baby carrots - Copy

My bowl of eggs fueled me nicely throughout the morning and my only indication that it was past 10 am were the growls escaping my stomach.  I munched on baby carrots and snap peas dipped in roasted red pepper hummus while I continued working away at my desk.

Lunch

I finally broke for lunch and went downstairs to eat with a few coworkers.

blackened chicken salad 3 - Copy

Holy cow.  This salad was DE-licious!

blackened chicken salad - Copy

Spring mix, cucumbers, tomatoes, green onions, craisins, macadamia nuts, goat cheese, and blackened chicken (leftovers from Monday night’s dinner).

newman's own lite sun dried tomato - Copy

I poured this Lite Sun Dried Tomato dressing into the bottom of the container along with the cucumbers so the rest of the salad remained fresh.  When I was ready to eat, I shook everything up so the dressing could evenly distribute.  Very tasty!

Afternoon Snack

The other day Jewel was offering two 1 lb containers of strawberries for $4.  Although I intended on purchasing blackberries instead, the decision was a no-brainer – a tiny clamshell of blackberries for $3.98 vs 2 lbs of strawberries for basically the same price.

And now I’m stuck eating 2 lbs of strawberries! 😉

white chocolate macadamia butter strawberries yogurt bowl 2 - Copy

I snacked on a bowl of Greek yogurt topped with cut-up strawberries and Reginald’s White Chocolate Macadamia Peanut Butter.

reginalds white chocolate macadamia peanut butter - Copy

A perfect afternoon pick-me-up!

Dinner

The positive side to skipping a morning workout is getting out of work a bit earlier.  I spent the rest of the afternoon and evening relaxing and enjoying some leisurely cooking in my kitchen.

pretzels and pepperjack cheese snack

I snacked on a few Italian Bistro Pretzels from my Nature Box this month and pepperjack cheese slices while I worked in the kitchen.

veggie garlic pasta bowl 2

I finally sat down to a big bowl of pasta.  I layered baby spinach on the bottom, which wilted down nicely from the hot fettuccine, along with steamed broccoli and cauliflower, roasted garlic dressing, red pepper flakes, and parmesan cheese.

veggie garlic pasta bowl

I had a real craving for marinara sauce which is what inspired me to cook up the pasta, but I failed to realize that I had no sauce in the pantry until the very last second.  Instead, I tossed the pasta lightly in roasted garlic dressing and it tasted great!

trader joe's dark chocolate almonds

I cuddled up with blankets and my furry friend to watch TV and munch on a few dark chocolate almonds.

trader joe's dark chocolate almonds 2

These things are dangerously good!

Enjoy the rest of your day!

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

