Cooking Scrapbook – Curried Chicken Salad

TGIF!  Hope everyone’s week went by smoothly and quickly.  I’m definitely ready for a 3 day weekend!

I planned on posting yesterday while I was in St. Louis for an audit but technology wouldn’t allow it.  We are in transition at work for new laptops and I was selected to test out one of the new models to ensure there aren’t any problems.  I brought it with me and sure enough, major glitch #1: neither the wireless network on the laptop, nor my AT&T wireless card gave me internet access.

But I’m back in town and all good in the (internet) hood!

Cooking Scrapbook

Just a little reminder, a few years ago I put together a cooking scrapbook for my mom.  It includes various recipes from my childhood through current (or since I moved out a couple years ago).  I thought it would be a neat idea to cook my way through those recipes and remember all the memorable times I spent growing up and being in the kitchen with my mom.

Here’s a little recap of ones I’ve done so far:

Curried Chicken Salad

cooking scrapbook curried chicken salad

Since I thought summer was finally here last week, I was in the mood for a crisp, refreshing, light salad so I dusted off the old scrapbook and decided to make this chicken salad.

curried chicken salad 4

I even enjoyed a big bowl of it outside… when it was still nice out!

curried chicken salad 5

Note the sarcasm?  I’m a little bitter than I had to dig out a coat this morning since it’s in the 40s around here.  Ridiculous!

curried chicken salad 1

Anyways, this salad is light and refreshing. It would be perfect for a summer picnic!

curried chicken salad 3

It does contain curry (which can be strong in some dishes) but the flavor here is subtle and gives it a nice touch.

Curried Chicken Salad

Ingredients:

3/4 cup plain 2% Greek yogurt

3/4 tsp curry powder

1/4 tsp salt

3 cups diced cooked chicken

1 1/2 cups red seedless grapes, halved

3/4 cup celery, sliced

1/3 cup green onions with tops, thinly sliced

2 Granny Smith apples, diced

1/3 cup pecans, chopped (I ended up using half pecans, half walnuts since I ran out)

Butter lettuce leaves, optional

Directions:

1.  Mix together yogurt, curry, and salt in a small bowl and set aside.

yogurt mix for chicken salad

2.  Combine all chopped ingredients in a large bowl (chicken through pecans).

curried chicken salad ingredients

3.  Add yogurt mixture to large bowl and stir until evenly coated.

curried chicken salad mixed up

4.  Serve over large butter leaves, if desired.

curried chicken salad 2

 

Enjoy your weekend and Happy Memorial Day!

Tagged: , , , ,

One thought on “Cooking Scrapbook – Curried Chicken Salad

  1. […] Last weekend, Dave and I grilled flank steak on the grill using a favorite family recipe for the marinade, which I included in my mom’s cooking scrapbook. […]

Leave a Reply

