Grocery Shopping When Hungry

Hope you’re staying dry this week (depending on where you live).  The storms just won’t give up the past few days around here.  Looking on the bright side, I’m thankful for the warmer weather at least.

pb and red velvet cake coffeeAnd besides, I started out the morning with spoonfuls of peanut butter and red velvet cupcake coffee.  Today has to be a great day, right?

Normally I would present the usual WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) post today, but a) I failed at photographing all my meals and snacks yesterday and b) my food wasn’t all that exciting for the most part…

turkey cheese pretzel sandwich 3a

…that is, with the exception of dinner!

turkey cheese pretzel sandwich 4

Take a look at this bad boy…. words cannot express how fantastic this sandwich was!

DSC_1623

I got out of work a little early yesterday afternoon and swung by good old Trader Joe’s real quick before I had to pick up Mac.  I confess the primary reason was to purchase more Espresso Pillows because I’m addicted, but of course, I found my slightly-hungry self wandering through the aisles.  Before I knew it, I had both arms full.

DSC_1624I initially passed up the pretzel buns but after I walked by the turkey and cheese, I started dreaming of a sandwich I had from Birchwood Kitchen with Lauren and Cassie a couple weekends ago before the half marathon.

turkey cheese pretzel sandwich

It looked (and tasted) an awful lot like this guy.  I’m not sure where or when I became obsessed with pretzel buns but they make me happy.  Plain and simple.

turkey cheese pretzel sandwich 5

Pretzel bun, roasted turkey breast, extra sharp white cheddar, and spicy mustard.

turkey cheese pretzel sandwich bite

Besides the pretzel bun, of course, the extra sharp white cheddar cheese absolutely makes the sandwich, in my opinion.

turkey cheese pretzel sandwich 2

Who ever said grocery shopping while hungry was a bad thing?  😉

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “Grocery Shopping When Hungry

  1. Lisa May 29, 2013 at 11:16 am Reply

    I think everything is better with cheddar!!! :-)

  2. sani panini May 29, 2013 at 8:25 pm Reply

    Sounds great, pretzel buns make an ordinary sandwich a little more exciting !

Leave a Reply

