Lauren’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

My all-time favorite dessert is a chocolate chip cookie, hands down.  To me, there is nothing better than a warm, soft, chocolately-chippity cookie paired with a tall glass of cold milk to wash it down. <drools>

lauren's cookies 4

I am convinced my love for chocolate chip cookies is hereditary, passed down from my wonderful (and deeply missed) Grandpa who also favored my Grandma’s homemade chocolate chip cookies.  I can’t help it, it’s in my blood.

cookie dough

And remember that amazing chocolate chip cookie I wolfed down delicately savored from Panera a couple weeks ago?  I have been dreaming about getting my hands on another one of those ever since.  Is that normal?  To dream about cookies?  Ehh whatever, I love food.

cookie dough 3

If you recall, I thought that cookie rocked because of it’s softness all the way through with the exception of the edges which were a little bit crispier, plus the perfect amount of evenly distributed chocolate chips.  Over-analyze much? 😉

cookie dough 2

Well, I stumbled across this genius blog, Baker Bettie, along with this post and this post, and immediately headed for the kitchen to recreate my own personal chocolate chip cookie, just the way I like them.

messy baking counter

Don’t mind me, I’m quite a messy baker.  But from this giant mess came these decadent little creations that were devoured in no time at all.

lauren's cookies

WARNING:  Be prepared, the recipe you are about to read is dangerous.  Once the dough has been prepared, there is no turning back.  Side effects include happiness, random mmmm sounds coming from the mouths of those who partake, and a severe lack of self control for an otherwise rational person.

lauren's chocolate chip cookies

Ingredients:

1 cup bread flour

1 cup, plus 2 tbls cake flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1 1/4 tsp salt

1 cup butter, melted and cooled slightly

1/4 cup sugar

1 1/4 cup brown sugar

1 whole egg, plus 1 egg yolk

1 cup white chocolate chips

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

1.  In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients (flour through salt).

2.  Cream together melted butter and sugar.  Add egg and egg yolk and mix well.

3.  Gradually mix in dry ingredients with the butter-sugar-egg mixture.

4.  Add both kinds of chocolate chips and stir just until evenly distributed in the dough.

5.  Cover the bowl with saran wrap and chill in the refrigerator overnight.  (Very important!)

6.  Once the dough has been chilled, preheat oven to 375.  Using a medium cookie scoop, place dough on cookie sheet (lined with parchment paper, for easy clean-up) a few inches apart.

7.  Bake for 8-10 minutes, just until the edges start to turn golden brown.  (I had mine in for 9 minutes exactly.)  Let sit on the cookie sheet for about 10 min before removing to cool on a cooling rack.  (Note: they will look underdone in the middle but the cookies will cook just a touch more while on the cookie sheet and once cooled, they will be perfectly soft!)

fresh baked cookies

lauren's cookies 2

Enjoy!

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

