Cooking Scrapbook – Mexican Flank Steak

Can you believe today is the last day of May?  This year is flying by!

I don’t know if its the crummy weather this week or what but I have been feeling really tired lately.  So tired, in fact, that I was too lazy for anything other than cereal last night for dinner and I fell asleep on the couch at 8:30.  Yep, I’m a party animal.

honey nut medley crunch

Side note – have you tried this new cereal, Honey Nut Cheerios Medley Crunch?  It tastes like a combination of Honey Bunches of Oats and obviously Honey Nut Cheerios.  Very good!

Cooking Scrapbook Recipe

grill

Last weekend, Dave and I grilled flank steak on the grill using a favorite family recipe for the marinade, which I included in my mom’s cooking scrapbook.

cooking scrapbook flank steak recipe

I’m sure this marinade would work well on just about any cut of steak or perhaps another type of meat, but I just love the way this tastes using the flank steak.

Mexican Flank Steak

Ingredients:

2 lb flank steak

1/2 cup olive oil

2 tbls vinegar

1 1/2 tsp salt

1/8 tsp Tabasco sauce (or more to taste)

1 tsp oregano

1 tsp chili powder

1 garlic clove, minced

Directions:

1.  Combine all ingredients (except steak) into a ziplog bag.  (I used a bowl to help keep the bag open.)

flank steak marinade

2.  Add flank steak and make sure the marinade gets evenly distributed over the entire steak.  Let marinade for about 2 hours on the counter to bring the meat to room temperature.

flank steak marinating

3.  Cook on the grill until meat is at desired ‘doneness’.  Let steak rest for about 10-15 minutes before slicing on a diagonal.

flank steakA couple of things to note:

  • I recommend the steak to be cut at a sharper angle than what the above picture shows. This was my first time slicing it since my dad wasn’t here to do it for me. 😉
  • After only 2 hours of marinating, the steak is chocked full of flavor.  According to my mom, I would highly suggest not letting it marinade overnight as the flavor ends up almost too powerful.

Hope you have a wonderful Friday!

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

