Crossfit Louisville East

Hello from Kentucky!

Two of my coworkers and I are currently out of town for an audit in Louisville.  We flew in yesterday afternoon and had a few hours to relax before heading to dinner.

louisville tortoise

On the way to find a restaurant, we pull up to a stop light and see this creature!

close up tortoise

Ohh ya know, just a guy taking his GIANT TORTOISE for a walk.  No big deal.

WEIRD.

against the grain

Anyways, we stumbled on this brewery and smokehouse, Against the Grain, which is located in a section of an old, renovated train station.

pulled pork at against the grain

I ordered the pulled pork sandwich which also came with coleslaw and their house barbeque sauce (left).  They also offered several other kinds of sauces so I chose a vinegar-based sauce called Carolina (right) for some variety.  Everything was delicious!

Crossfit Louisville East

Since I don’t have to be at work until 9:30 am this morning, I decided to drop in a local Crossfit box to get a workout in.

crossfit louisville east

Generally, Crossfit gyms allow people to visit while out of town without being a member.  I had the choice to pay a small fee or buy a shirt and workout for free.

crossfit louisville east shirt

Definitely went for the shirt!  🙂

WOD

Today was their “rest day” which I later found out was anything but!  I now realize the coach meant no heavy lifting.  We started off with a warm-up of jogging and sprints.  Although my foot is still a bit sore from the half marathon a few weeks ago, I decided to try running a bit and good news, no pain!  🙂

Then came “Annie” consisting of double unders and ab-mat situps.  The exercises are split up into 5 sets of 50-40-30-20-10 reps each.  (i.e. 50 DUs, 50 sit-ups, 40 DUs, 40 sit-ups, etc.)

AND THEN came the actual WOD:

  • 10 wall balls
  • 5 burpees
  • 10 kettle bell swings

10 rounds each

I was a sweaty mess at the end but as always, I felt amazing!!  Now time to get ready for work.  Have a fantastic day!

Tagged: , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Crossfit Louisville East

  1. Caitlyn June 4, 2013 at 7:53 am Reply

    I like that shirt, I would have went for that option too 🙂

  2. […] a nice and sweaty Crossfit session, I grabbed something to eat from the little coffee shop at the hotel while I got ready for the […]

  3. Carmel, Indiana | Berry Sweet Lauren June 19, 2013 at 7:31 am Reply

    […] really enjoyed visiting the Crossfit gym during my last audit so I thought I’d check out if there was one in the area.  Since I loved the friendly town of […]

Leave a Reply

